Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Sharks name Super rugby tour squad for Sunwolves

Sharks Super Rugby coach Robert du Preez

DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA - JULY 09: Robert du Preez (Assistant Coach) of the Cell C Sharks during the Super Rugby match between Cell C Sharks and Toyota Cheetahs at Growthpoint Kings Park on July 09, 2016 in Durban, South Africa. (Photo by Steve Haag/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Sharks Super rugby head coach Robert du Preez has named his touring squad that travels to Singapore ahead of the team’s Super Rugby round one clash with the Sunwolves.

A 25-man squad has been selected for the opening week’s action with du Preez selecting a strong side with a handful of youngsters who have really put up their hands in the two pre-season matches (against the Lions and Bulls) to date.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Eighthman Phepsi Buthelezi has impressed and continues where he left off – leading the Sharks Under 19s to SA Rugby Under 19 Competition success last year.

He is joined by Kerron van Vuuren who has shown the ability and temperament necessary to play at this level.

Aphelele Fassi and Khutha Mchunu have Currie Cup experience and add depth to this strong and exciting side.

Getting the season off on a winning note is the team’s paramount duty, explains Sharks prop Coenie Oosthuizen. A powerful side is going to Singapore and they mean business – right from the get-go.

“Starting the tournament on a high is very important, we don’t want to play catch-up rugby.

“This is not an easy game for us, especially not there in Singapore, it’s like playing the Cheetahs – you don’t go to Bloemfontein and win easily. We expect them to put up a fight physically, they maul well, they can stand up to any pack, it’s what we expect from any South African team.

“Underestimating the Sunwolves is one of the biggest mistakes a team can make.”

Curwin Bosch and Marius Louw who were initially in the tour squad stayed behind due to carrying slight niggles.

Sharks Super rugby Touring Squad

1. Akker van der Merwe , 2. Andre Esterhuizen , 3. Aphelele Fassi , 4. Cameron Wright , 5. Coenie Oosthuizen , 6. Daniel du Preez , 7. Gideon Koegelenberg , 8. Hyron Andrews , 9. Jacques Vermeulen , 10. Jeremy Ward , 11. Juan Schoeman , 12. Kerron van Vuuren , 13. Khutha Mchunu , 14. Louis Schreuder (c) , 15. Lukhanyo Am , 16. Lwazi Mvovo , 17. Makazole Mapimpi , 18. Phepsi Buthelezi , 19. Rhyno Smith , 20. Robert du Preez , 21. Ruan Botha , 22. Sbu Nkosi , 23. Beast Mtawarira , 24. Tyler Paul , 25. Wian Vosloo

Exit mobile version