Super Rugby

Sharks name team for do-or-die Stormers clash




Sharks Super rugby head coach Robert du Preez has named his team for their do-or-die match against the Stormers at Newlands in Cape Town

The congestion on the South African Conference log means that going down to the final game of the weekend, the permutations are numerous.

With the Bulls and Lions locking horns in the other South African derby, it means that the teams’ respective destinies will only be determined at the final whistle of the final game of the pool stages.

Both Beast Mtawarira and Cameron Wright are back from injury in some great news for the Sharks to play their part on our quest for a top-eight finish.

Beast Mtawarira takes over from Mzamo Majola in the front row, with Majola playing off the bench while Ruben van Heerden will move to the starting line-up this week in the absence of Ruan Botha who has been battling with a nerve impingement on his foot.

There is just one change to the backline, Aphelele Fassi reverting to fullback for Curwin Bosch who had to leave the field with an ankle injury in the 2nd half of the match against the Jaguares and is not be available for selection this week.

Hooker, Craig Burden has tweaked his hamstring and is also unavailable which opens the door of opportunity for Cullen Collopy.

Gideon Koegelenberg provides lock cover on the bench and utility back Rhyno Smith is named on the bench. The Crusaders are the only team to have a bye in an action-packed final round of pool matches.

The New Zealanders are the reigning champions and have buttoned up top spot on the overall log with an unassailable lead after the completion of their fixtures.

The Jaguares have also secured their position as Conference winners while the four remaining South African sides are separated by just three points going down to the final weekend.


15. Aphelele Fassi 14. Sbu Nkosi 13. Lukhanyo Am 12. Andre Esterhuizen 11. Makazole Mapimpi 10. Robert du Preez 9. Louis Schreuder (c) 8. Daniel du Preez 7. Tyler Paul 6. Jacques Vermeulen 5. Hyron Andrews 4. Ruben van Heerden 3. Coenie Oosthuizen 2. Kerron van Vuuren 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements 16. Cullen Collopy 17. Mzamo Majola 18. Thomas du Toit 19. Gideon Koegelenberg 20. Luke Stringer 21. Cameron Wright 22. Jeremy Ward 23. Rhyno Smith

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.