Super Rugby

Sharks name unchanged team to face Waratahs




Sharks head coach Robert du Preez has retained the team that played last week for this weekend’s Super Rugby match against the Waratahs on Saturday.

The Sharks snatched a late victory over the Brumbies in Canberra last week and Du Preez has kept faith with his line up for this week.

“The effort from the guys to pull of the win last week was fantastic and showed the character and fighting spirit amongst this special group of players,” said Du Preez.

“That win has definitely motivated us, however it is important that we build on that momentum this week.

“We arrived back home on Sunday night and despite the jet lag, there has been no excuses from the guys.  As a coaching unit we cannot fault their commitment and work ethic, which has been amazing.

“The Waratahs will want to end their tour on a high and will be a difficult prospect on Saturday.  We are looking forward to playing at home and the support and backing of our fans will give us added motivation.”


15 Clement Poitrenaud, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie (c), 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Tera Mtembu, 7 Jean- Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Stephan Lewies, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Jean Droste, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Jeremy Ward, 23 Curwin Bosch

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.