Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Sharks snatch late victory over Brumbies

Coenie Oosthuizen of the Sharks is tackled during the round two Super Rugby match

CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 04: Coenie Oosthuizen of the Sharks is tackled during the round two Super Rugby match between the Brumbies and the Sharks at GIO Stadium on March 4, 2017 in Canberra, Australia. (Photo by Mark Nolan/Getty Images)

The Sharks snatched a late 22-27 victory over the Brumbies to end a two match losing streak to the Canberra side.

The match looked set to finish with a 22 all scoreline but the Sharks mounted a late attack which resulted in Lukhanyo Am scoring the match winning try in extra time.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The Brumbies outscored the Sharks by three tries to two but Patrick Lambie kicked five penalties which proved to be the difference.

The Brumbies have played the Sharks 11 times in Canberra and won eight of the matches making this the Sharks third win in the Australian capital since 1998.

The Brumbies made an energetic start, peppering the Sharks and keeping the visitors on their toes.

That resistance was short lived however as only two minutes in the crowd had something to cheer about with Henry Speight going over in the corner.

A fantastic sequence of play, culminating in a slick back-line move, saw the Wallabies winger latch onto a cut-out ball to cross over untouched. Wharenui Hawera missed the extras but the home side were off to a flyer.

The Brumbies faithful were then treated to some determined defending as the Sharks were twice denied in the space of a few minutes. Some great covering tackles thwarting the Durban side and preserving the home team’s lead.

Not to be continually denied the Sharks reduced the gap to two through a Patrick Lambie penalty kick after Rory Arnold failed to roll away following the tackle.

The Brumbies thought they had a second score 16 minutes in when Scott Fardy crashed over but upon review a knock on was found in the lead up.

It mattered little as on 24 minutes the home side extended their lead to seven. Josh Mann-Rea driving over from a strong rolling maul. Hawera converted as the Brumbies were rewarded for their patience having turned down several chances to go for goal as the Sharks were continuously penalised.

Hawera added another three points a few minutes later as the visitors were again caught offside. Leading 15-3 the Brumbies were heading towards the break in good nick but the Sharks managed to sneak one back after Tendai Mtawarira forced his way over underneath the posts to reduce the gap to five.

Another Lambie penalty saw the sides go into the break with only two points the difference, the Brumbies just in the lead 15-13.

The Sharks picked up where they left off in the second half as Lambie was presented with another three points but his long-range attempt drifted wide.

On 52 minutes the Brumbies’ night was made much harder when Godwin was sent to the bin for a ruck infringement. Despite being outnumbered the home side refused to be out enthused, some fantastic defending restricting the Sharks to three points, via the boot of Lambie, for the next 10 minutes.

Both sides traded penalty kicks before the Brumbies levelled proceedings with a superb Tevita Kurindrani try. After again turning down chances to nab three back, some slick hands created an overlap which the speedy centre exploited. Isaac Thompson, fresh into the fray, added the extras for a 22-all score line.

Despite throwing everything into a winner, the home side suffered a sucker punch as the Sharks scored an unlikely winner. Hugging the sideline, Bosch produced a clever in field kick that eluded defenders and into the path of Am.

Next week the Brumbies host the Western Force in Canberra while the Sharks return home to South Africa where they will host the Waratahs at Kings Park in Durban.

Final Score Brumbies 22 (15) Sharks 27 (12)


Tries – H.Speight, J.Mann-Rea, T. Kuridrani
Pen – W.Hawera
Con – W.Hawera 2
Drop –
Cards – K.Godwin (51st min yellow)

Tries – T.Mtawarira, L.Am
Pen – P.Lambie 5
Con – P.Lambie
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1: Jordan Way
Assistant Ref 2:Ed Martin
TMO : George Ayoub



Brumbies: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 James Dargaville, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Jordan Smiler, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Josh Mann-Rea, 1 Nic Mayhew

Replacements: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Lolo Fakaosilea, 21 De Wet Roos, 22 Andrew Smith, 23 Isaac Thompson


15. Clement Poitrenaud,14. Kobus van Wyk,13. Lukhanyo Am,12. Andre Esterhuizen,11. Lwazi Mvovo,10. Patrick Lambie (c),9. Cobus Reinach,8. Tera Mtembu (v/c),7. Jean-Luc du Preez,6. Philip van der Walt,5. Ruan Botha,4. Stephan Lewies,3. Coenie Oosthuizen,2. Franco Marais,1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements : 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle,17. Thomas du Toit,18. Lourens Adriaanse,19. Jean Droste,20. Jacques Vermeulen,21. Michael Claassens,22. Jeremy Ward,23. Curwin Bosch

Exit mobile version