Super Rugby

Sharks get their stars back for Hurricanes




Sharks Director of Rugby Gary Gold has rung the changes for their Super Rugby quarter final match against the Hurricanes in Wellington.

The Sharks have been boosted by the return of three key players from injury as Willie le Roux, Paul Jordaan and Jean-Luc du Preez have all been included in the run-on XV.

Le Roux comes into the team and replaces Rhyno Smith who started against the Sunwolves last week.

Paul Jordaan returns to the side at outside centre and he takes over from JP Pietersen who returns to the wing. As a result Odwa Ndungane drops to the replacements bench.

In the final change to the Sharks back line Michael Claasens returns to the side and replaces Stefan Ungerer.

In the forwards Jean-Luc du Preez replaces Tera Mtenbu on the blindside flank while Stefan Lewies is back in the second row at lock replacing Ruan Botha who drops out of the match day squad.

The Sharks also get captain Tendai Mtawarira back to lead the side and he starts at loosehead with Thomas du Toit rotating to the bench.


15. Willie le Roux ,14. JP Pietersen , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Andre Esterhuizen, , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Garth April , 9. Michael Claassens, , 8. Philip van der Walt, , 7. Jean-Luc du Preez , , 6. Keegan Daniel , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Etienne Oosthuizen , 3. Coenie Oosthuizen , 2. Franco Marais , 1. Tendai Mtawarira (Captain)

Replacements:16. Chiliboy Ralepelle,,17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Thomas du Toit ,19. Hyron Andrews,20. Tera Mtembu ,21. Stefan Ungerer ,22. Curwin Bosch ,23. Odwa Ndungane

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.