Super Rugby

Sharks beat Chiefs in Durban




The Sharks host the first of two Super Rugby matches this weekend in South Africa and they host two time champions the Chiefs in Durban.

The Sharks have played the Chiefs 19 times in Super Rugby since 1998 and they have won eight and lost 11.

  • The Chiefs have won six of their last seven games against the Sharks, though this will be the first meeting between the teams since a 24-22 win to the Chiefs at Yarrow Stadium in Round 10, 2016.
  • The Sharks have won four of their last seven games against New Zealand opposition; though, they will be looking for consecutive wins in such fixtures for the first time since winning three on the bounce in 2014.
  • The Chiefs have won five of their last six games in South Africa, including their last three in a row; never before have they gone on a longer winning streak in the nation.
  • The Chiefs (15) and Sharks (14) have made the cleanest breaks per game of any team in this campaign.
  • Robert du Preez has successfully piloted 54 goals this season, more than any other player in the competition – he has missed just six further attempts.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway in Durban.

5.00: PENALTY! Robert du Preez puts the sharks in front. 3-0

7.00: The sharks are all over the Chiefs in the early exchanges.

9.00: TRY! Robert du Preez is over for the game’s first try after taking a smart offload. 8-0

11.00: CONVERSION! Du Preez converts his own score. 10-0

12.00: The Sharks good build-up play is hampered by a knock on. Scrum to the Chiefs.

16.00: The first receiver is trapped with the ball from the set-piece, but the tackler fails to roll away, giving the Chiefs a penalty. They kick to the corner.

18.00: TRY! Tyler Ardron, the Canadian Bakkies Botha is over for the score after an overthrown lineout. 10-5

19.00: CONVERSION! Marty McKenzie adds the extras. 10-7

21.00: A little game of territory going on in Durban, with both teams kicking for field position.

23.00: The Chiefs have a defensive lineout on their 5m after Curwin Bosch is tackled into touch by Shaun Stevenson.

24.00: The Sharks are pinged at the breakdown, allowing the visitors to clear their lines.

25.00: It’s the Kiwis who are penalised next. The sharks kick and put them back inside their 22.

27.00: The home team go through the phases before being awarded a penalty. Ruan Botha wants to scrum.

29.00: The Chiefs win the ball after a knock on and kick down the field, setting up play deep inside the Sharks’ half. Handling errors killing another promising attack.

32.00: The Sharks repel the Chiefs attack, and win a penalty at the ruck which they clear into the opposition’s half.

33.00: Bosch has a dart for the line, but loses possession in contact. The Sharks need to hold onto the ball better.

35.00: The Sharks are penalised for a high tackle. McKenzie will take a shot at goal.

37.00: PENALTY! McKenzie’s kick is good; the scores are level. 10-all

38.00: Robert du Preez drops a kick, gifting the Chiefs a last attacking opportunity before the break.

39.00: The game is open; both teams losing possession and counter-attacking, but failing to finish off their counters.

40.00: That’s halftime in Durban. The depleted Chiefs will be the happier team, especially after clawing back a 10-point deficit.

The halftime score was Sharks 10 Chiefs 10

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway at the Shark Tank. 

42.00: The Sharks counter-attack and are looking dangerous after the Chiefs lose the ball from the restart.

42.00: TRY! Lwazi Mvovo strolls in for the Sharks second try. The TMO says everything is alright with the score; try stands. 15-10

43.00: MISS! Du Preez can’t add the extras. 15-10

45.00: The Chiefs opt to maul from the lineout this time, but it goes to ground as the forward pack present a brick wall defence. Scrum to the Sharks.

46.00: TRY! Andre Esterhuizen throws a loose pass which is intercepted by Charlie Ngatai, who races away to score under the posts to tie the game. 15-all

47.00: CONVERSION! McKenzie adds the extras. 15-17

51.00: The Sharks win a penalty for a dangerous tackle and will take a shot at goal.

52.00: PENALTY! Du Preez puts the Sharks back in the lead. 18-17

54.00: MISS! Du Preez misses a chance to extend the lead to four. 18-17

55.00: Mvovo makes another break, but the attack breaks down after another knock on. The sharks need to handle better because this Chiefs team will hurt them if they don’t pull away.

56.00: The Chiefs knock on at the base of the scrum, so the home team will have a good opportunity inside the Kiwis’ 22.

58.00: TRY! Cam Wright snipes around the scrum and is over for the score, an important score, too. 23-17

59.00: CONVERSION! Never in doubt. 25-17

61.00: Lukhanyo Am breaks but the move breaks down after another knock on.

65.00: The Sharks are dominating the breakdown and causing the Chiefs problems with their backline play.

66.00: The home team’s defence has to be applauded, too. They have been immense.

67.00: Robert du Preez is smoked in the tackle but he gets the ball away. The Sharks win the penalty after kicking the ball away.

68.00: PENALTY! Du Preez extends his side’s advantage. 28-17

70.00: The Chiefs need something special if they are going to win this game. How they will get through the Sharks brick wall of a defence, is another story.

73.00: Chiefs scrum inside Sharks 10m.

74.00: Some more substitutions are flooding the field. Time is running out for the Chiefs.

76.00: The Chiefs win a penalty and kick deep into Sharks territory.

78.00: The sharks are controlling the final moments of this match and will hold on for an important win.

81.00: TRY! Solomon Alaimalo races away for an important bonus-point score. 28-22

82.00: CONVERSION! McKenzie slots the kick, but the game ends in favour of the Sharks. 28-24


In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Sharks 28 (10) Chiefs 24 (10)


Tries – R. Du Preez, Mvovo, Wright
Pen – R. Du Preez (3)
Con – R. Du Preez (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Ardron, Ngatai, Alaimalo
Pen – M. McKenzie
Con – M. McKenzie (3)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 2: Archie Sehlanko
TMO: Willie Vos



15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Sibusiso Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Ross Geldenhuys, 19 Stephan Lewies, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Marius Louw, 23 Makazole Mapimpi.


15 Shaun Stevenson, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Charlie Ngatai (captain), 12 Johnny Faauli, 11 Solomon Alaimalo, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Liam Messam, 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Michael Allardice, 4 Tyler Ardron, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Liam Polwart, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe’.

Replacements: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Sam Prattley, 18 Sosefo Kautai, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Matt Matich, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Luteru Laulala, 23 Toni Pulu.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.