Super Rugby

Sharks beat Force in Durban




The Sharks have returned from Argentina and face the Western Force this weekend in Durban where the teams will meet for the 10th clash between the sides.

In the nine previous clashes between the sides, the Sharks have won eight and lost one.

The Force have never won in Durban and the last seven matches have all been won by the Sharks.

The Natal team is undefeated in their past eight matches at Kings Park and the Perth team has one once in their previous 10 games in the Republic.

Tatafu Polata-Nau leads the Force out for his 150th Super Rugby appearance. Philip van der Walt leads the hosts out for the first time at home.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: BEEP! BEEP! Curwin Bosch starts the game with a high kick and the Force have possession. The Sharks win an early penalty and kick for touch.

3.00: Bosch is playing his last game before joining the South African u20 side to prepare for their World Championships.

4.00: There is a break in play while some players receive attention.

5.00: Sibusiso Nkosi is leaving the field, not a good debut.

5.00: PENALTY Bosch! The Sharks are on the board.

10.00: Penalty! Bosch adds his second penalty goal after some more infringements from the Aussies.

12.00: The force has had some possession but can’t do anything with it. They then kick the ball away and give up field position.

14.00: The Sharks have the best scrum success in the competition at 98 percent.

16.00: The home team are camped on the Force’s try-line. They lose the ball and the Aussies clear. The game is being played without much tempo and intensity.

18.00: Sibusiso Nkosi is back on so no problems there after all. The Force spread the ball wide after winning the scrum.

20.00: Rhyno Smith tracks back and tackles the rampaging Brynard Stander. The Force are inside the Sharks 22 but lose the ball after only a few phases. That is poor handling.

22.00: The scrum has been reset three times.

24.00: TRY Sibusiso Nkosi! What a day and what a step. The debutant scores after the Sharks sent the ball wide to the winger, who steps inside the defenders and scores.

24.00: It’s not awarded after the TMO shows that Bosch knocked the ball forward, earlier in the previous play. It’s still 6-0 and the Force have the scrum in the Sharks’ half.

25.00: TRY James Verity-Amm! What a turnaround! The winger races away to put the visitors on the scoreboard. It was a great move from the first-phase ball. A dummy runner in the Force backline opened the hole and Verity-Amm was away.

27.00: Conversion is good and the Force lead by one.

30.00: The Sharks think they’ve scored again, however, it’s not given due to obstruction. The Force relieve the pressure and are inside the home team’s half.

33.00: The handling is being impacted by some humid conditions and the players are struggling. The Sharks win the ball and are on another attack.

36.00: The Sharks win a penalty for collapsing the maul. Bosch wants another lineout, five out.

37.00: YELLOW CARD Curtis Rona! Rasta Rasivhenge reaches for his pocket and the centre is off.

38.00: TRY Jeremy Ward! The centre dances his way through a big hole in the Force defence and gets his first Super Rugby try. 

39.00: Bosch adds the extras from in front.

40.00: TRY Jean-Luc du Preez! Wow, the Sharks have ended the first half in style. Lukhanyo Am collected his grubber and played the inside ball to the supporting Du Preez.

41.00: Bosch kicks his second conversion. 

The half-time score was Sharks 20 Force 7

41.00: BEEP! We are back underway.

43.00: Chiliboy Ralepelle crashes over but he’s lost it forward. No Try!

45.00: The Sharks are dominating the early stages and the Force, if they don’t sort out an exit strategy, will be out of this game soon.

47.00: Sharks win a penalty and Bosch calls for the tee.

48.00: PENALTY! Bosch’s kick sails through and the hosts extend their lead. 

49.00: Knock forward from Ruan Botha gives the Force possession.

51.00: The Sharks empty bench and look to fresh legs.

54.00: The sharks have the ball after some good work at the breakdown.

55.00: TRY Curwin Bosch! Some excellent footwork from the 20-year-old who collects and scores.

56.00: Bosch converts his try and the Sharks are running away with the game now.

59.00: A chip kick from Brache and the attempted regather from Meakes knocked forward. Scrum down, Sharks put into the scrum.

61.00: Pat Lambie gets some action after his injury layoff. It will be good to get some miles under the belt, especially, with Bosch going to the u20 World Championships.

63.00: Lineout to the Force just outside their own 22. Mitch Short then throws a forward pass and the Sharks have the scrum put into the scrum.

66.00: Penalty to the Force, Brache kicks for touch. Lineout to the visitors.

67.00: TRY Marcel Brache! The Force have found a way past some stubborn Sharks defence. Jono Lance combined with the fullback after some good backline play.

68.00: Peter Grant can’t add the extras but there is some slim hope for the visitors.

71.00: TRY Lukhanyo Am! The centre intercepts a pass and runs away to score. That is the ball game.

72.00: Lambie converts and the Sharks’ lead is back to 25 points with the clock ticking down.

76.00: Force turn the ball over, Haylett-Petty has a run along with Peter Grant. Brache chips chase and regather the ball. Good play by the fullback.

78.00: the handling errors are mounting as the game winds down.

80.00: BEEP! BEEP! that’s it. The Sharks have won comfortably against a feeble Force.


The Final score is Sharks 37 (20) Force 12 (7)

Live In-Play Betting.


Tries – Ward, J. du Preez, Bosch, Am
Pen – Bosch (3)
Con – Bosch (3), Lambie
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Verity-Amm, Brache
Pen –
Con – Prior
Drop –
Cards – Rona (Yellow, 37th minute)

Match Officials
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Ref 1: Quinton Immelman
Assistant Ref 2: Archie Sehlako
TMO: Shaun Veldsman



15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Jeremy Ward, 11 Sibusiso Nkosi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt (captain), 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Thomas du Toit.

Replacements: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Stephan Lewies, 20 Lubabalo Mtembu, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Patrick Lambie, 23 Johan Deysel.

Western Force

15 Marcel Brache, 14 James Verity-Amm, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Billy Meakes, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Jono Lance, 9 Ian Prior, 8 Isireli Naisarani, 7 Matt Hodgson (captain), 6 Brynard Stander, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Ross Haylett-Petty, 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Tatafu Polata-Nau, 1 Pek Cowan.

Replacements: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Shambeckler Vui, 19 Lewis Carmichael, 20 Richard Hardwick, 21 Mitchell Short, 22 Luke Burton, 23 Peter Grant.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.