Super Rugby

Sharks beat Hurricanes in Durban




In the fourth match on Saturday Super Rugby moves to South Africa where the Sharks host the Hurricanes in Durban.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

Beauden Barrett kicks off and the match is underway.

1.00: The Sharks win the first scrum. Willie le Roux boost the ball upfield and the Hurricanes boot the ball back. Garth April kicks the ball back and the Sharks follow up.

2.00: Penalty to the Sharks Garth April signals that he will kick for posts.

3.00: April’s kick is just short.

6.00: TJ Perenara slips through a tackle and gets the Hurricanes into the Sharks 22. The Sharks get back and tackle him and turn the ball over and kick it into touch.

8.00: The Sharks run the ball down the line after the line out but the Hurricanes defence pushes them wide and into touch.

11.00:The Hurricanes string several phases together before the Sharks turn the ball over. April begins the attack and the ball gets to Paul Jordaan who runs in a try. The TMO will check as there was a suspect pass in the build up. No try , forward pass.

14.00: Lwazi Mvovo is tackled late by James Marshall after a kick upfield. The TMO is called in to review. It’s a penalty to the Sharks after several reviews.

15.00: April takes the penalty kick and nails it. The Sharks lead.

19.00: The Sharks win a scrum and work the ball into the Hurricanes half. At the breakdown the Hurricanes win a penalty. They take it quickly and kick for touch.

21.00: The Hurricanes press the Sharks back into the 22. They go through the phases on the 5m line.

22.00: The Hurricanes knock the ball on after 8 phases and the Sharks kick it into touch.

23.00: Penalty to the Hurricanes for Daniel du Preez going off the feet. Barrett takes the kick for posts. He nails it. The scores are level.

26.00: The Sharks work the ball into the Hurricanes 22. They look dangerous but Reggie Goodes wins the turnover. The Hurricanes kick for touch.

29.00: The Hurricanes get the ball down into the Sharks 22. They go through the phases passing the ball from player to player and Reggie Goodes slips through and scores. TRY!

31.00: Barrett misses the conversion.

33.00: The Hurricanes attack down the wing and Cory Jane makes ground before offloading to James Marshall who is tackled in touch.

35.00: Penalty to the Sharks for not releasing. April kicks for touch.

37.00: The Hurricanes turn the ball over after the line out and maul. They kick to Le Roux who boots the ball back. Barrett and April exchange kicks. April’s goes into touch.

39.00: Keegan Daniel slips through a gap for the Sharks, he makes ground but is tackled. The Sharks keep the ball moving forward. They get to the 5m line and the Hurricanes scramble back. They have the advantage but JP Pietersen goes over and scores. TRY!

40.00: April takes the conversion but hits the post.

It’s half time.

The half time score is Sharks 8 Hurricanes 8

April kicks off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Sharks kick the ball upfield and JP Pietersen chases, he gets the bounce of the ball and grabs it and scores. TRY!

45.00: April adds the conversion. The Sharks lead.

48.00: Beauden Barrett comes off the field injured and is replaced by Jason Woodward. Woodward goes to fullback and Marshall goes to flyhalf.

51.00: The Sharks get a penalty and Michael Claasens takes a quick tap on the 5m line and scores. TRY!

52.00: April adds the conversion. Pat Lambie comes on for April.

54.00: Penalty to the Sharks for a high tackle. A bit of aggression overflows and then dies down. Lambie will take the shot.

55.00: Lambie takes the penalty kick. He nails it.

56.00: Beauden Barrett comes back on. Woodward comes off. Reg Goodes off. Chris Eves is on.

57.00: The agression comes back out. Every one jumps in to each other and then it dies down. The captains are called in and told to calm it down.

58.00: TJ Perenara has been replaced by Jamison Gibson-Park.  Chiliboy Ralepelle comes on for Franco Marais.

61.00: The Hurricanes get the ball into space in the sharks 22. Marshall loses the ball and the Sharks counter. Lwazi Mvovo gets the ball and races away. He passes to Paul Jordaan who gets hunted down by Ardie Savea who wins the ball and clears it into touch. Lambie was open and could have scored if he had been given the ball.

64.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Lambie kicks for touch.

66.00: Tendai Mtawarira has to leave the field for blood. Lambie takes over the captaincy. The Sharks have a 5m scrum.

67.00: The Sharks win the scrum and Lambie almost gets away to score. The Sharks continue to attack but can’t get over. They are called back for a penalty. Jean Deysel is about to come on.

69.00: The Sharks win the scrum and Daniel du Preez slips over and scores. TRY! bonus point if it stays like that.

70.00: Lambie adds the conversion.

73.00: The Hurricanes work the ball up to the Sharks 22. Marshall slips through and scores for the Hurricanes.

74.00: Woodward adds the conversion.

76.00: The Sharks get back on attack in the Hurricanes 22. The Sharks want the bonus point back.

77.00: Advantage to the Sharks. They are called back for a penalty. Lambie says they will have a scrum.

78.00: The Sharks win the scrum and they get to the line but are kept out. The Sharks are called back for an earlier advantage and penalty.

80.00: The Hurricanes defend their line, turn the ball over and kick it well upfield.

81.00: The Sharks continue to play instead of kicking the ball into touch. They want the bonus point. The Sharks move the ball and pass forward.

That’s it the Sharks have won.

The full time score is Sharks 32 (8) Hurricanes 15 (8)


Tries – JP.Pietersen 2, M.Claasens, D.du Preez
Pen – G.April , P.Lambie
Con – G.April, P.Lambie
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – R.Goodes, J.Marshall
Pen – B.Barrett
Con – J.Woodward
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 1:Quinton Immelman
Assistant Ref 2:Rodney Bonaparte
TMO :Marius Jonker



15. Willie le Roux, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Garth April, 9. Michael Claasens, 8. Daniel du Preez, 7. Jean-Luc du Preez, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Franco Marais, 1. Tendai Mtawarira (C)

Replacements: 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Thomas du Toit, 19. Hyron Andrews, 20. Jean Deysel, 21. Stefan Ungerer, 22. Patrick Lambie, 23. Odwa Ndungane


15 James Marshall, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Vince Aso, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara (vc), 8 Victor Vito, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Michael Fatialofa, 4 Vaea Fifita, 3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen, 2 Dane Coles (c), 1 Reggie Goodes

Replacements : Motu Matu’u, Chris Eves, Ben May, Mark Abbott, Blade Thomson, Jamison Gibson-Park, Willis Halaholo, Jason Woodward.,

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.