Super Rugby

Sharks beat Lions in Durban




Welcome to the Super Rugby coverage of the Lions and the Sharks from Kings Park, Durban.

  • The Lions have won their last seven games on the bounce against the Sharks, three of which came after trailing at half-time.
  • The Sharks have lost just one of their last six games on home turf (W4, D1), including wins in each of their last three.
  • The Lions are undefeated in their last 21 South African derbies (W20, D1); their last derby loss was a 35-33 defeat at the hands of the Bulls in Round 12, 2015.
  • The Sharks (13) have made the most offloads per game this season, while the Lions (6) have made the fewest.
  • The Lions’ Elton Jantjies (1,120) has played more minutes than any other player this campaign, while he has kicked the third most goals in 2018 (55).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway at Kings Park for this South African derby.

2.00: Warren Whitely returns as captain for the Lions after a lengthy lay-off with a knee injury.

3.00: TRY! The Sharks drive over from five-metres out and it’s Daniel du Preez who gets up with the ball. 5-0

5.00: MISS! Rob du Preez’s kick is off the post and away. 5-0

7.00: Lions have possession around halfway, and they win a penalty.

8.00: TRY! Easy as you like. Ruan Combrink waltzes over in the corner for the Lions first try of the game. 

10.00: CONVERSION! Elton Jantjies puts the Lions in front. 5-7

11.00: A Missed opportunity for the Sharks. Curwin Bosch passes the ball into touch with an overlap, however, the Sharks get a penalty and will take a shot.

13.00: PENALTY! Du Preez puts the Sharks ahead. 8-7

17.00: TRY! Cyle Brink bounces through a couple of Sharks players on his way to the try-line. The Lions are destroying the home team on the wings. 8-12

19.00: CONVERSION! Jantjies with another good kick. 8-14

21.00: The Sharks are pinged at the scrum. Jantjies kicks to halfway.

23.00: The Lions have a perfect opportunity to attack with a scrum under the Sharks’ posts.

25.00: Another penalty goes against the sharks because Akker van der Merwe did not use his arms in a tackle. Scrum, Lions, under the sticks.

27.00: Van der Merwe steals the ball, but is carried over his goal-line. 5m scrum, again, under the posts.

28.00: NO TRY! Whitely picks up from the base of the scrum, pops to Jantjies, who goes over under the posts. But, the TMO rules a forward pass and the try does not stand. 8-14

30.00: We are still scrumming under the Sharks’ posts. It’s been six minutes. Bosch clears to the 22.

33.00: The game is very lethargic. The home team cannot get out of their 22. Lions are dominating.

34.00: Aphiwe Dyantyi puts in one of his little grubbers, but Van der Merwe gets back to save the day for his side.

37.00: Sharks have a throw inside their half. They carry the ball forward and are near the Lions 22.

38.00: Sharks get a penalty and will take a shot.

39.00: PENALTY! Du Preez slots the kick from in front. 11-14

40.00: TRY! Malcolm Marx bounces his way down the touchline and he sends Kwagga Smith away for the score. 11-19

41.00: CONVERSION! Jantjies slots the kick. 11-21

The halftime score was Sharks 11 Lions 21

41.00: PEEEEP! We are underway in the second-half.

44.00: Good start to the half by both teams.

47.00: The Lions have an attacking lineout inside the Sharks 22.

48.00: Big defence by the home team. Again, they manage to stop the Lions from near their line, a knock-on gives the Sharks a scrum, but they are still deep inside their 22.

50.00: Still no points in the second-half in Durban. The Sharks will need to find their “A-game” if they are to pull back this 10-point difference and win.

53.00: Marx has really beefed up this Lions pack since his return. Sharks are struggling.

54.00: Both teams are emptying their benches.

57.00: The Sharks are starting to play, they march down the field only to knock the ball on and cede possession.

59.00: TRY! Andre Esterhuizen goes over in the corner for the Sharks. The centre has been excellent this evening and he has got his team back in the game. 16-21 

59.00: CONVERSION! Du Preez makes it a three-point game. 18-21

62.00: The Sharks get a penalty at the scrum and Du Preez immediately calls for the tee.

63.00: PENALTY! The Sharks are level with 16 to play. 21-all

65.00: Wait. The Lions win a penalty and – unusually – will take a shot at goal.

66.00: PENALTY! Jantjies puts his side back in front. 21-24

68.00: TRY! What’s going on here? Lwazi Mvovo, thrust into the starting line-up for Sbu Nkosi, scores the Sharks third try, racing away down the sideline. 26-24

70.00: Conversion! Du Preez adds the extras. 28-24

72.00: The game is entering the business end, can some magic win it for the visitors, or will the home side stay in the race for a playoff berth?

73.00: PENALTY! Du Preez extends his side’s lead to a converted try. Wow! 31-24

75.00: This has been a stunning comeback by the Durbanites, trailing by 10 at the break, they have increased the tempo in the last quarter and are looking likely to win this.

77.00: The Sharks are keeping the Lions at bay. The clock is ticking down.

79.00: Big defence by the home team; they are snuffing out every attack.

80.00: The hooter sounds…

81.00: The Lions knock the ball on.

Game over.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Sharks 31 (11) Lions 24 (21)


Tries – D. du Preez, Esterhuizen, Mvovo
Pen – R. du Preez (4)
Con – R. du Preez (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Combrink, Brink, Smith
Pen – Jantjies
Con – Jantjies (3)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1: AJ Jacobs
Assistant Ref 2: Stuart Berry
TMO: Marius Jonker


Sharks: 15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Lwazi Mvovo, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: 16 Mahlatse Ralepelle, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Ross Geldenhuys, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Marius Louw, 23Jacobus Van Wyk.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrink, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Albertus Smith, 5 Francois Mostert, 4 Marvin Orie, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Dylan Smith.

Replacements: 16 Corné Fourie, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Hacjivah Dayimani, 21 Marnus Schoeman, 22 Nicholas Groom, 23 Courtnall Skosan.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.