Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Lions beat Sharks in Durban

Super Rugby Live Scores - Live super rugby scoring

Super Rugby Live Scores - Live super rugby scoring

From a South African point of view the big Super Rugby match of the weekend is in Durban where the Sharks host the Lions.

Match detail

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The Lions kick off and we are underway.

2.00: The Sharks break out as  Cobus Reinach slips through a gap and passes to Marcell Coetzee. Somehow the Lions get back and stop him. The Sharks recycle and go for the corner. The Sharks keep the attack going but the Lions keep them out. Big start from the Sharks.

4.00: The Lions win a penalty from the scrum on the 5m line. Jantjies kicks for touch and the line out.

7.00: The Lions attack down the wing and Jaco Kriel races for the line. He goes in to score but the TMO rules the final pass was forward. No try.

12.0: The Lions win a penalty and they choose to kick for touch and the line out. Tecklenburg takes the ball and the Lions use the maul. It goes to ground.

13.00: The Lions recycle and drive to the line. Andries Ferreira almost gets there. The Lions call for the TMO to look at the grounding. The TRY is awarded.

14.00: Jantjies slots the conversion and the Lions lead.

16.00: Penalty against Reinach in the scrum. Jantjies kicks for touch.

18.00: Another scrum penalty to the Lions from the scrum – against Coenie Oosthuizen for angling in and collapsing. Jantjies lines up the posts.

19.00: Jantjies slots the penalty.

22.00: The Lions work the ball into the Sharks 22. They put the pressure on and the Sharks go off their feet. Penalty to the Lions. They run it. The Sharks infringe again and the Lions get another penalty.

24.00: Angus Gardner gives the Sharks a team warning. Jantjies slots the penalty.

27.00: The Sharks work the ball into the Lions 22. They have the advantage and press forward. The Sharks make almost no ground and they are called back for a penalty. They will kick for posts.

28.00: Joe Pietersen slots the penalty and the Sharks are on the scoreboard.

31.00: The Sharks try to clear the ball but Joe Pietersen fumbles the ball on the Sharks tryline as he tries to clear the ball. There is a break in play as Marcell Coetzee gets some help from the doctor. Keegan Daniel is warming up. Coetzee is driven off in the medical buggy.

32.00: The game resumes. The Lions win the scrum and Rohan Janse van Rensburg goes for the line. He is stopped but the Lions have a scrum for collapsing the scrum.

33.00: The Ref has another word with the front rows. The scrum resets. The Lions win the scrum. They attack and send several players at the line but the Sharks hold on. The Lions go again and again. Mapoe goes for the line and reaches. We go to the TMO to check. The try is awarded to Mapoe.

35.00: Jantjies misses the conversion.

38.00: The Sharks are getting desperate and frustrated. They pass the ball out down the line but Hyron Andrews knocks the ball on.

40.00: the Sharks are awarded their first penalty from the scrum. A fight breaks out. It dies down. Pietersen will kick for poles.

41.00: Pietersen takes the kick and nails it.

Its half time.

The half time score was Sharks 6 Lions 18

The Sharks kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: Penalty to the Sharks almost in front from the maul. Pietersen takes the kick and he nails it.

45.00: Penalty to the Lions. Jantjies takes the kick and nails it.

48.00: The Sharks go through 10 phases but the ball is slow and they make little ground. Eventually they knock on.

50.00: Another penalty to the Lions. The Beast gets a talking to by the referee but he gives a lot of back chat accusing the Lions of angling in. He will have to watch himself talking to the ref like that. The Lions kick for touch.

53.00: The Sharks press the Lions back towards the tryline. The Lions however come away with the ball. Gary Gold is not at all happy.

55.00: The Lions win a scrum and they kick to the half way line to clear.

58.00: Kyle Cooper comes on for the Sharks.

59.00: Both props come up in the scrum so the scrum has to be reset.

61.00 Keegan Daniel has taken over the captaincy as  Tendai Mtawarira has been replaced.

63.00: The scrum collapses again. It gets reset. So far that is 8 resets.

64.00: The Sharks win a penalty from the scrum. Garth April kicks for touch.

67.00: The Lions win a penalty. Jantjies takes the kick and nails it extending the lead.

70.00:The TMO is called in for a late tackle on Elton Jantjies by Andre Esterhuizen. Its a penalty only. Jantjies will kick for touch.

72.00: There is a short break in play as Ruan Dreyer some new shorts. The Lions have a scrum, they attack but at the breakdown the Lions fail to roll away. The Sharks get a penalty.

74.00: Janttjies goes for a drop goal but misses. It keeps the Sharks pinned back in their half.

78.00: The Lions are keeping the Sharks pinned back in their 22. The Lions are pressing as they can win a bonus point if the score another try. The Lions are awarded a penalty in front but the TMO comes in to report on Franco Mostert tackles Willie le Roux. The referee says he doesnt see much but gets persuaded by Marius Joncker to reverse the penalty. Sharks kick for touch.

80.00: Penalty to the Lions after the line out. They kick for touch. Jantjies kicks too deep. The Lions get a scrum as the ball was kicked dead. But wait ….. the fireworks have gone off and the kids have charged on to the field as they thought the match was over. They have to pull the kids off and wait for everyone to leave.

82.00: The Sharks win the scrum and run the ball. The Sharks attack down the wing, they are stopped and they change sides on attack. The Lions turn the ball over, Mapoe runs and passes to Whiteley who knocks on. Thats it. The Lions win and the kids run back on to the field.

The full time score is Sharks 9 (6) Lions 24 (18) 


Tries –
Pen – J.Pietersen 3
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – A.Ferreira, L.Mapoe
Pen – E.Jantjies 4
Con – E.Jantjies
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1:Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 2:Rodney Bonaparte
TMO :Marius Jonker



15. Willie le Roux , 14. JP Pietersen , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Andre Esterhuizen , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Joe Pietersen , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Daniel du Preez , 7. Jean-Luc du Preez , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Hyron Andrews , 4. Etienne Oosthuizen , 3. Coenie Oosthuizen , 2. Franco Marais , 1. Tendai Mtawarira (C)

Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Juan Schoeman , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Lubalolo Miyanda , 20. Keegan Daniel , 21. Michael Claassens , 22. Garth April , 23. Odwa Ndungane


15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Dylon Smith

Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Ruan Ackermann, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Jaco van der Walt


Exit mobile version