Super Rugby

Sharks beat Stormers in wet Durban




The Sharks host an all-South African derby match this weekend in Durban and the visiting side is Cape Town’s Stormers.

The Sharks have played the Stormers 25 times in Super Rugby and they have won 13 times and lost 12.

The Sharks have won six of their last nine games against the Stormers, but the Stormers have had the better 2017 season so far and have won five of their last six SA derbies.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: BEEP! BEEP! We are underway in Durban. The Sharks have early ascendancy and win a penalty at the breakdown. Great work from Jacobus van Wyk.

3.00: The Sharks are making metres, as they punch through the Stormers’ defence, however, they lose the ball in an offload. Scrum to the visitors.

5.00: The Sharks win a penalty at the scrum after the Stormers are pinged for illegal binding.

6.00: PENALTY! Garth April gives his side the lead.

8.00: TRY Johan Deysel! The centre crashes through two tacklers and gets his team’s first try.

9.00: MISS! April can’t add the extras.

15.00: The Stormers are gaining a foothold in the match. They are inside their host’s half but can’t get any points on the board.

19.00: Scrum to the Sharks; April clears and the Sharks have some go-forward ball. Eventually, the Sharks lose the ball forward, inside the Stormers’ 22.

23.00: The two sides defences are strong. Most of the front ball is coming from counter-attacks are mini-breaks in the midfield.

25.00: The visitors are penalised again, April clears and sets up a lineout, inside the Stormers half.

27.00: Robbie fleck’s men get the penalty at the breakdown and can clear their lines.

28.00: MISS! SP Marais attempts a 53-metre kick, but the ball falls short.

30.00: The Stormers win another penalty after a counter-attack. They go wide, Cheslin Kolbe is tackled high, but the referee brings them back after playing a long advantage. They go to their maul.

32.00: The Stormers are camped on the Sharks’ try line. Another infringement could lead to a yellow card, so Robert du Preez’s team will need to tread carefully.

33.00: Dillyn Leyds loses the ball near the goal-line and the move is dead.

35.00: EW Viljoen’s kick has given the possession back to the Sharks. The home team has had the better of the territory and possession, but it’s the visitors who are having the better of the last 15 minutes.

36.00: Lukhanyo Am is down after putting in a big hit on Eben Etzebeth. That was very brave and only one winner. The Sharks steal the Stormers’ ball and are on the attack inside their 22.

37.00: TRY Stephan Lewies! The Sharks forwards go through a few phases, short of the line, before the lock picks up and dives over.

38.00: April’s conversion is good, the Sharks open up a three-score lead.

40.00: The Sharks win a penalty on their try line and clear. The hooter sounds and the teams enter the shed.

The half-time score was Sharks 15 Stormers 0

41.00: BEEP! BEEP! We are back underway at a wet Kings Park in Durban. Lukhanyo Am has not returned after undergoing an HIA.

43.00: Marius van der Westhuizen is penalising the Sharks at every opportunity. SP Marais will call for the tee.

44.00: PENALTY! SP Marais gets his team on the board. 

47.00: The Stormers are gathering momentum and the Sharks are starting to leak too many penalties. Marais’ touch-finder was not great, but his team has possession.

52.00: The Stormers have a scrum inside Sharks territory. The set piece needs to be reset. The referee has some words with the front rows.

55.00: The Cape team go through the phases. They are on the sharks goal-line, looking for the game-changing score. They win a penalty.

56.00: TRY SP Marais! The Stormers went 16 phases, won a penalty. Jano Vermaak took it quickly and the fullback crosses the line for his team’s first try of the match.

57.00: Marais converts his own try, has all 10 points for his team, and reduces the deficit, to five points going into the final quarter.

60.00: The Sharks have their hands on the ball and are inside the Stormers’ 22. The visitor’s forwards do some excellent work at the breakdown, winning the scrum from the previous maul. Fleck’s side has been immense at the breakdown, stopping all the momentum of their opponents, when it mattered.

62.00: TRY Sibusiso Nkosi! The winger runs around the back of his backline, cuts through Ramone Samuels’ weak tackle and speeds away to score under the posts.

63.00: April adds the extras and the Sharks have a 12-point buffer. 

66.00: Marius van der Westhuizen penalises the Sharks for tackling a player without the ball. No card.

68.00: GREAT D! The Stormers can’t get through, Philip van der Walt put in two big tackles, Dillyn Leyds goes wide and Sibusiso Nkosi puts in a big tackle, gets up and wins the penalty.

71.00: The Stormers come again. They go through another multi-phase attack but lose the ball. Kolbe regathers and goes forward. The ball is hacked away and Leyds chases. SP Marais kicks to touch after a penalty, but the ball is out over the in-goal area. Huge mistake.

75.00: Dan du Preez and the skipper have been immense tonight, carrying with conviction and defending like demons. The Durban side has a scrum on the Stormers’ 5.

78.00: Cheslin Kolbe breaks and sets up another opportunity, however, the Stormers lose the ball forward as Seabelo Senatla can’t gather the loose ball.

80.00: The Stormers are searching for the losing bonus-point, somehow, the Sharks hold them up over the whitewash. The referee consults the TMO. No try! The Sharks hang on for victory, denying the Stormers a losing bonus-point. BEEP! BEEP!


Live In-Play Betting.

The final score after 80 minutes is Sharks 22 (15) Stormers 10 (0)


Tries – Deysel, Lewies, Nkosi
Pen – April
Con – April (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Marais
Pen – Marais
Con – Marais
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 1: AJ Jacobs
Assistant Ref 2: Archie Sehlako
TMO: Marius Jonker



15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 Jacobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Johan Deysel, 11 Sibusiso Nkosi, 10 Garth April, 9 Jacobus Reinach, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt (captain), 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Ruan Botha, 3 Coenraad Oosthuizen, 2 Mahlatse Ralepelle, 1 Thomas du Toit.

Replacements: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Etienne Oosthuizen, 20 Lubabalo Mtembu, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 23 Odwa Ndungane.


15 Sarel Marais, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Siya Kolisi (captain), 6 Kobus van Dyk, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oliver Kebble.

Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Alister Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Dewaldt Duvenage, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Seabelo Senatla

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.