Super Rugby

Shaun Treeby suspended for 3 weeks


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Stormers centre Shaun Treeby has been suspended for three weeks for a dangerous tackle in his team’s victory over the Blues.

As per Sanzaar rules for the matter to be dispensed with Treeby had to plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.

Subsequently the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee accepted the guilty plea from Treeby of the Stormers for contravening Law 10.4(e) Dangerous tackling of an Opponent, after he was cited during a Super Rugby Match at the Weekend.

Treeby has been suspended from all forms of the game for 3 weeks, up to and including Saturday 10 June 2017.

The incident occurred in the 46th minute of the match between the Stormers and Blues played at Newlands, Cape Town on 19 May 2017.

The SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee of Nigel Hampton QC (Chairman), Stefan Terblanche and Stephen Hardy assessed the case.

In his finding, Foul Play Review Committee Chairman Nigel Hampton QC ruled the following:

“Having conducted a detailed review of all the available evidence, including all camera angles and additional evidence, as well as an explanation from the player and submissions from his legal representative, Thembelani Mayosi, the Foul Play Review Committee upheld the citing under Law 10.4(e)”

“With respect to sanction the Foul Play Review Committee deemed the act of foul play merited a mid-range entry point of 6 weeks. However, taking into account mitigating factors including the Player’s excellent Judicial record over a long professional career and his early guilty plea the Foul Play Review Committee reduced the suspension to 3 weeks.”

“The player is therefore suspended for 3 weeks, up to and including the Saturday 10 June 2017.”

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

Foul Play Review Committee: Nigel Hampton QC (Chairman), Stefan Terblanche & Stephen Hardy
Player: Shaun Treeby
Team: Stormers
Position: Centre
Date of Incident: 19 May 2017
Nature of Offence: Law 10.4(e) Dangerous tackling of an Opponent.
Elapsed time in match when offence occurred: 46:53

Recommended for you


  1. Wilbert

    21st May 2017 at 7:09 pm

    Just interesting that both referee and TMO could not send the player of with a yellow card at least. This is just very poor baised calls been made during this game, and it was not the only poor call of the night. These calls were all game changers decision-making ones.

  2. Nickyboy

    24th May 2017 at 5:58 am

    I couldn’t agree more and I’m an Aussie follower! This referee was out of his depth and it once again raises the question that with 3 major rugby playing nations involved in the competition plus Argentina & Japan, why can’t we always have a neutral referee? An inexperienced ref speaking to his TMO from the same country is bound to lead to suggestions of bias, whether perceived or factual, and this can be avoided. Blues were clearly the better team and suffered repeatedly from incorrect decisions.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.