Rugby Championship News

Simmons starts for Australia against Argentina




Australian Rugby head coach Michael Cheika has named a team with one change to the starting line up for this Saturday night’s Rugby Championship clash with Argentina at Canberra’s GIO Stadium.

Experienced lock Rob Simmons will line up for his 75th Test cap alongside Adam Coleman, with Rory Arnold out of the match day 23.

Reds lock Izack Rodda will get the chance for just his second Test cap if called upon from the bench at GIO Stadium.

Saturday night’s clash could also mark the debut for Rugby League convert Marika Koroibete, after he was named amongst the reserves.

The Rebels winger is set become Wallaby 913, and the tenth Wallabies debutant of 2017, after initially joining the squad for the 2016 Spring Tour and this year’s June Series.

At present, seven players are set to be released for Round Three of the National Rugby Championship with Adam Korczyk (Brisbane City), Lukhan Tui (Brisbane City), Joe Powell (Canberra Vikings), Rory Arnold (Canberra Vikings), Billy Meakes (Perth Spirit), Curtis Rona (Perth Spirit) and Lopeti Timani (Melbourne Rising) to be available after completing their Wallabies duties.

Australia are currently third on the Rugby Championship standings, following three points from the opening three games (one draw, two defeats) while Argentina are yet to notch a point.

The Wallabies have won their last four games against the Pumas while Argentina have only beaten Australia once Down Under, after an 18-3 victory at Ballymore Stadium in Brisbane in 1983.

The two sides last met in October last year at Twickenham Stadium with Australia holding on for a 33-21 victory thanks to two tries from centre Samu Kerevi.


1. Scott Sio, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Rob Simmons , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Ned Hanigan, 7. Michael Hooper (c), 8. Sean McMahon , 9. Will Genia (vc), 10. Bernard Foley (vc) , 11. Reece Hodge, 12. Kurtley Beale, 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Israel Folau,

Replacements : 16. Jordan Uelese , 17. Tom Robertson, 18. Allan Alaalatoa , 19. Izack Rodda , 20. Jack Dempsey , 21. Nick Phipps, 22. Samu Kerevi , 23. Marika Koroibete*

*denotes uncapped

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.