Smit back as Sharks captain for Highlanders




John Smit has been named as captain in the Sharks team to face the Highlanders in Dunedin on Saturday. Percy Montgomery was sent home to be rested and he is replaced by JP Pietersen who has little experience at Super 14 level.

Bradley Barrit is named on the bench at 22 but he has not fully recovered from the injury sustained at training last week, his place will be taken by Gcobani Bobo.

The Sharks narrowly lost to the Brumbies last week going down 35-30 in Canberra. This week the venue is the Highlanders home stadium Carisbrook, nicknamed the House of Pain.

One person in the Sharks team who is very familiar with the House of Pain is Tony Brown who played 83 matches for the Highlanders and has been one of the better performers for the Sharks.

The Brown – Pienaar partnership worked well last week and looks like it will get stronger as the pair get more used to each other.

Sharks team for the Highlanders

15. JP Pietersen
14. Odwa Ndungane
13. Adrian Jacobs
12. Andries Strauss
11. Henno Mentz
10. Tony Brown
9. Ruan Pienaar
8. AJ Venter
7. Jacques Botes
6. Warren Britz
5. Johann Muller
4. Johan Ackermann
3. Brendon Botha
2. John Smit(Capt)
1. Deon Carstens

16. Bismarck du Plessis
17. Danie Saayman
18. Albert van den Berg
19. Daniel Farani
20. Craig Davidson
21. Waylon Murray
22. Brad Barritt/Gcobani Bobo

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.