Smith�s century celebrated with bonus-point win



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The CA Brumbies have marked interim captain George Smith’s 100th Super Rugby match with a 29-23 win over the Cheetahs at Canberra Stadium tonight.

After trailing 13-12 at the break, the home side laid on two second-half five-pointers to seal the four-tries-to-two win and take five competition points from the Good Friday encounter.

CA Brumbies Head Coach Laurie Fisher said claiming maximum points from the match was important.

‘It was crucial for us to get four tries against a side that has defended well in most of their games this year,’ he said. ‘They struggled a bit last week but they had their best side on the park today and came in with a good opportunity to win the game. So to win with a bonus point is good for us.

‘It was a hard-fought tussle and we struggled for continuity in the first half. The breakdown’s a battle in all games and we probably struggled in a few weeks but we were pleased to get some flow in the second half, score a couple of nice tries and put some pressure on them but there’s a lot of work to do still.’

After conceding an early penalty goal to Conrad Barnard, the home side registered the first try in the 12th minute when barnstorming lock Mark Chisholm received the ball in the CA Brumbies’ backline, bumped passed JW Jonker and out-paced Cheetahs fullback Hennie Daniller over 30 metres to the line.

However, Mark Gerrard’s conversion and the side’s 7-3 lead was short-lived with Cheetahs winger Jongi Nokwe showing good feet and an excellent turn of speed to score in the corner midway through the term.

Man-of-the-match Peter Playford, whose incisive running down the right-hand wing ignited several try-scoring opportunities for his side, dived across for his third try of the season in the 33rd minute following some quick hands from No.8 Stephen Hoiles, only to see Barnard knock over a penalty goal on the 40-minute mark to reclaim the half-time advantage.

Having barely returned from the dressing rooms, the CA Brumbies mounted an early attacking raid in the second stanza but were unable to take the lead until a Gerrard penalty goal in the 51st minute.

A yellow card to in-form Cheetahs scrumhalf Falie Oelschig five minutes later sparked a 14-point, 10-minute burst from the Canberra side, guaranteeing them the bonus point. First, inside centre Tyrone Smith capitalised on some fancy footwork in evading five defenders and swan diving under the posts, before replacement Julian Salvi gifted fellow back-rower Mitchell Chapman his first try in CA Brumbies colours.

The Cheetahs scored a late try to scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn but were forced to settle for a bonus-point loss with penalty goal to Jacques-Louis Potgieter on full time.

The CA Brumbies head into the bye week with the ledger squared with three wins and three losses, with captain Stirling Mortlock and utility back Adam Ashley-Cooper expected to be available for the side’s next fixture at Canberra Stadium against the Chiefs in a fortnight’s time (Friday, 4 April).

CA Brumbies 29 (Mark Chisholm, Peter Playford, Tyrone Smith, Mitchell Chapman tries; Mark Gerrard 3/4 conversions, 1/2 penalty goal) defeated Cheetahs 23 (Jonge Nokwe, Tewis de Bruyn tries; Barnard 1/1 conversions, 2/4 penalty goal, Jacques-Louis Potgieter 1/1 conversion, 1/1 penalty goal) at Canberra Stadium, Canberra.
Referee: Steve Walsh (NZ)
Half time: Cheetahs 13-12

Crowd: 14,076

CA Brumbies
1. Nic Henderson

2. Huia Edmonds

3. Salesi Ma’afu

4. Peter Kimlin

5. Mark Chisholm

6. Mitchell Chapman

7. George Smith (c)

8. Stephen Hoiles

9. Joshua Holmes

10. Christian Lealiifano

11. Francis Fainifo

12. Tyrone Smith

13. Sanualio Afeaki

14. Peter Playford

15. Mark Gerrard


16. John Ulugia

17. Guy Shepherdson

18. Alister Campbell

19. Julian Salvi

20. Patrick Phibbs

21. Afusipa Taumoepeau

22. Matt Toomua

21. Afusipa Taumoepeau replaced 14. Peter Playford (23rd minute ‘ blood)

17. Guy Shepherdson replaced 3. Salesi Ma’afu (26th minute)

14. Peter Playford replaced 21. Afusipa Taumoepeau (27th minute ‘ blood return)

20. Patrick Phibbs replaced 9. Joshua Holmes (49th minute)

19. Julian Salvi replaced 8. Stephen Hoiles (54th minute)

18. Alister Campbell replaced 4. Peter Kimlin (54th minute)

16. John Ulugia replaced 2. Huia Edmonds (66th minute)

21. Afusipa Taumoepeau replaced 11. Francis Fainifo (72nd minute)

22. Matt Toomua replaced 15. Mark Gerrard (73rd minute)


1. Wian du Preez

2. Adrian Strauss

3. Kobus Calldo

4. Rory Duncan (c)

5. Barend Pieterse

6. Heinrich Brussouw

7. Darron Nell

8. Duane Vermeulen

9. Falie Oelschig

10. Conrad Barnard

11. Jongi Nokwe

12. Meyer Bosman

13. JW Jonker

14. Eddie Fredericks

15. Hennie Daniller


16. Richardt Strauss

17. CJ van der Linde

18. David de Villiers

19. Kabamba Floors

20. Tewis de Bruyn

21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter

22. Hendrik Meyer

<Not recorded>

Yellow Card

9. Falie Oelschig (56th minute)   


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.