Rugby Championship News

South Africa beat Argentina in Soweto





South Africa’s Springboks have never lost to Argentina’s Pumas but when they last met the Pumas almost pulled off a shock victory.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.
0.01: Argentina kick off and we are underway. The Springboks take the ball and kick it straight out.
2.00: The first scrum has to be re-set so we have another scrum.
3.00: Free kick for South Africa after three messy scrums. They kick upfield but the Pumas make the mark. Hernandez kicks downfield.
6.00: Penalty to South Africa. Morne Steyn takes the kick as the vuvuzela’s wake up and deafen the crowd. He nails it and the Springboks lead.
8.00: Bryan Habana takes a knock in a tackle and goes down. He gets some attention from the medics and carries on.
9.00: Penalty to the Springboks. Steyn takes the shot and doubles South Africa’s score. So far nearly all of the possession has belonged to South Africa.
11.00: Argentina enjoy some possession and territory in the Springboks half but they fail to gather any momentum and South Africa push them back into their own half.
13.00: Patricio Albacete has to come off injured and on comes Julio Farias Cabello.
15.00: Argentina win their first penalty of the match.  Felipe Contepomi takes the kick and slots it. Argentina are on the scoreboard.
18.00: The Springboks are awarded another penalty so Steyn gets another kick. He slots it.
21.00: Adriaan Strauss gives away a penalty for hands in the ruck. Contepomi takes the penalty kick and slots it.
24.00: Duane Vermeulen makes a break for the Boks but he is caught an knocks on.
25.00: The Springboks win a scrum and move the ball to the wing but Argentina push Bjorn Basson into touch and save a try.
27.00: The Springboks win a scrum and try to maul with the ball but they are called back for penalty for collapsing a maul. Steyn kicks for the corner.
28.00: The Springboks win the line out and try the maul again. After a few phases Jean de Villiers is carried over but can’t get the ball down. We are called back though for an offside penalty. Steyn again kicks for the corner.
29.00: South Africa get their first try as Chris Pollock awards a penalty try for an “intentional knock down” – Eusebio Guinazu is also shown a yellow card.
30.00: Steyn adds the conversion.
32.00: Argentina respond by playing their best rugby yet as they push the Boks back into their half. The Boks however turn the ball over and Steyn makes a break and he gets the ball to JJ Engelbrecht runs in an easy try.
33.00: Steyn adds the conversion again.
34.00: There is a scrum after Argentina knock on so they send their hooker Guinazu back on and Juan Imhoff comes off. The crowd are entertaining themselves as the game is not that exciting.
36.00: The Springboks win a scrum and run the ball. They go through a couple of phases and then they win another penalty. Steyn will kick.
37.00: Steyn nails the penalty.
39.00: South Africa have a scrum but its a mess so they get a penalty and take a quick tap. SA get close but the Pumas hold them out and the siren sounds for half time.
It is half time. Disappointing attendance figure for a triple header as the attendance is 52 867.
The half time score is South Africa 26 Argentina 6
Morne Steyn kicks off and we are underway.
40.10: Duanne Vermeulen misses the ball from the kick off and knocks on.
44.00: Penalty for the Springboks for feeding the scrum early. Steyn kicks for the corner.
45.00: The Springboks win the line out and drive over the line and Adriaan Strauss is credited with the TRY!
47.00: Steyn takes the conversion and slots it.
48.00: Leonardo Senatore tip tackles  JJ Engelbrecht and drops him so he is shown a yellow card.
50.00: The Springboks kick for touch with the penalty and then win the line out. The Pumas however hold them out.
51.00: The Springboks botch an attempt at a try but they are awarded a penalty so they kick for touch. They win the line out and drive over the line and Willem Alberts scores the bonus point TRY!
54.00: Fourie du Preez comes on. Jean de Villiers gets an intercept pass and slips through the Pumas defence and scores the Boks 5th try.
56.00: Steyn adds the conversion.
57.00: Habana makes a break but is caught, the Boks continue to attack but the ball changes sides and comes back to Habana and he knocks on.
60.00: Argentina get some good ball and attack and make ground but the passing gets a little too fancy and they knock on.
62.00: Jean de Villiers slips through the Argentina defence and sends a long pass to Habana, he is caught and then he passes to Fourie du Preez who goes over to score his 14th try.  
63.00: Morne Steyn slots the conversion.
65.00: Jan Serfontein is about to come on for South Africa. Pat Lambie almost gets through for a try but the Boks continue their attack and this time Habana scores. TRY!
67.00: Habana adds the conversion. Jean de Villiers comes off and is replaced.
69.00: The Springboks are just bashing their way through the Pumas now. This time Duane Vermeulen bashes over for the eighth try.
70.00: Morne Steyn adds the conversion. This is now the biggest ever SA victory over Argentina – unless the Pumas score.
75.00: The Springboks drive over the line again and Bismarck du Plessis is the try scorer this time. It’s very one sides.
76.00: Morne Steyn takes the conversion and nails it.
79.00: The Pumas get a consolation try at the death as Felipe Contepomi goes over. He converts his try.
That’s it. The Springboks win.
The full time score is South Africa 73 (26) Argentina 13 (6)


South Africa
Tries – Penalty Try, JJ Engelbrecht, A Strauss, W.Alberts, Villiers, F.du Preez, B.Habana, D.Vermeulen, B.du Plessis.
Pen – M.Steyn 4
Con – M.Steyn 6
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – F.Contepomi
Pen –  F. Contepomi 2
Con – F. Contepomi
Drop –
Cards – E.Guinazu (29th min yellow), L. Senatore (48th min yellow)

Match Officials
: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Pascal Gauzere
Assistant Ref 2:John Lacey
TMO : Eric Gauzins


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux ,14 Bjorn Basson ,13 JJ Engelbrecht ,12 Jean de Villiers (captain) ,11 Bryan Habana ,10 Morne Steyn ,9 Ruan Pienaar ,8 Duane Vermeulen ,7 Willem Alberts ,6 Francois Louw,5 Juandre Kruger ,4 Eben Etzebeth ,3 Jannie du Plessis ,2 Adriaan Strauss,1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements :16 Bismarck du Plessis ,17 Gurthro Steenkamp ,18 Coenie Oosthuizen,19 Flip van der Merwe ,20 Siya Kolisi ,21 Fourie du Preez ,22 Pat Lambie ,23 Jan Serfontein


Juan Martin Hernandez; Gonzalo Camacho, Marcelo Bosch, Felipe Contepomi (capt), Juan Imhoff; Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo; Leonardo Senatore, Juan Martin Leguizamon, Pablo Matera; Patricio Albacete, Manuel Carizza; Matias Diaz, Eusebio Guinazu, Juan Figallo

Replacements: Agustin Creevy, Nahuel Lobo, Juan Pablo Orlandi, Mariano Galarza, Julio Farias Cabello, Tomas Cubelli, Santiago Fernandez, Horacio Agulla

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.