South Africa Springboks Rugby News

Ireland beat South Africa in Cape Town




The third of the Big Test matches this weekend is in Cape Town South Africa where the Springboks host Ireland.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

1.00: South Africa playing in white kick off and the match is underway. Ireland – playing in green – get an early penalty. They kick for touch.

2.00 Francois Louw goes off his feet and Ireland have a second penalty. They take the line out. Ireland win the line out but South Africa knock on. Ireland scrum.

3.00: Ireland concede a penalty at the line out so South Africa have a penalty. Lambie kicks for touch.

5.00: Louw wins a penalty for South Africa. Lambie lines up the kick for posts. He misses.

7.00: Ireland win a penalty and take the line out option. The Springboks come away with the ball after the line out and run the ball.

8.00: South Africa captain Adriaan Strauss gets a team warning for conceding penalties. Ireland kick for touch with the penalty.

10.00: Louw concedes a penalty for side entry after the line out. They take the line out option again.

11.00: Ireland win the line out and use the maul. It is stopped, Ireland change sides and run the ball. They try the chip through and Jared Payne dives over the ball and scores. The TMO will check. There is also a potential yellow card for Lood de Jager. It’s TRY! And a yellow for De Jager.

15.00: South Africa win a penalty. Lambie lines up the kick and he nails it.

17.00: Ireland get South Africa going backwards with an extended period of attack. They win a penalty from the effort.

19.00: Paddy Jackson slots the penalty.

21.00: Pat Lambie gets knocked out clean in a tackle – the ref hasnt seen it so everyone plays on. South Africa have a penalty which finally stops the match. The TMO reviews the incident and  CJ Stander was committed to charging down the ball in the air but the ref decides its a RED Card. Very very harsh. Lambie comes off and on comes Elton Jantjies. South Africa take the line out for the penalty.

24.00: South Africa attack Ireland in their 22. JP Pietersen almost gets through but South Africa continue the attack. They win a penalty in front of the posts.

25.00: Jantjies slots the penalty.

28.00; South Africa get into space and Siya Kolisi almost gets through but the final pass is forward.

31.00: South Africa win the penalty and Jantjies slips a pass to Lwazi Mvovo who races through Ireland and scores. TRY! The TMO will review it as Damian de Allende could have obstructed Luke Marshall. There is also a big tackle on Jantjies.  Robbie Henshaw is yellow carded but the referee and TMO completely miss the block. Wow.

35.00: Ireland win a line out and attack in the centrefield. They get into the South African 22 and continue to attack – with 13 players.

36.00: Paddy Jackson goes for the drop goal and nails it to level the scores.

38.00: South Africa look certain to score in the corner but Henderson rips the ball out of Lood de Jager’s hands and Ireland counter attack.

39.00: South Africa win a line out and use the maul. They get into the Ireland 22. The Boks go through 6 phases but they can’t get through.

40.00: The siren sounds as South Africa go through 9 phases and they go for the corner – they go over but there is a foot in touch. No try.

Its half time.

The half time score was South Africa 13 Ireland 13

Ireland kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00 Ireland suck in South African defenders with a maul and then run the ball and go over. The TMO will review the try. Conor Murray is awarded the TRY!

44.00: Paddy Jackson adds the conversion. Ireland lead.

45.00: Ireland have really come out to play for the second half. They are full of attack, and running the ball across the park. Paddy Jackson chips the ball ahead and chases but Faf de Klerk just gets back to save a certain try.

48.00: South Africa have settled the game down. They are keeping the ball tighter and in the forwards. As they run the ball they lose it forward.

53.00; South Africa launch an attack on the Ireland 22. They go through 10 phases but when South Africa get to the line Ireland turn the ball over and kick it upfield.

57.00: South Africa still battling away at the Irish defence near the half way line but Ireland manage to kill off the attack.

59.00: Penalty from the scrum – remember Ireland are a man down. Jackson will kick for posts.

61.00: Jackson hits the post.

62.00: South Africa try to run the ball but Eben Etzebeth knocks it on.

64.00: Ireland chip the ball to the corner and Willie le Roux goes for the ball and fumbles it into touch which gives Ireland a 5m line out.

65.00:Ireland concede a penalty at the line out and Jantjies clears the ball into touch.

66.00: South Africa go off their feet at the break down. Penalty to Ireland. Jackson lines up the kick.

67.00: Jackson slots the penalty and extends the lead. Ireland lead by 10.

68.00: Ireland try to run the ball and Pieter-Steph du Toit picks off an intercept and races away to score under the posts. TRY!

69.00: Jantjies adds the conversion.

70.00: Ireland go through 8 phases and get to the Boks’ 5m line. Keith Earls is flattened in a tackle but he gets the ball away.

71.00: Ireland continue to attack and Jackson goes for another drop goal but misses.

73.00: South Africa run the ball but Du Toit’s pass goes forward. Ireland scrum.

76.00: Penalty to Ireland. Jackson lines up the shot. He nails it to extend the lead.

78.00: South Africa try to run the ball but when they get into the Ireland half they knock on.

78.00: Ireland win the scrum. They keep the ball moving through the hands.

79.00: South Africa turn the ball over and attack but as they go forward the ball is knocked on as Paddy Jackson tries to turn it over.

80.00: South Africa have the scrum. It collapses.

81.00: South Africa win the scrum. The hooter sounds.

82.00: South Africa continue to attack Ireland pressing them back.

JP Pietersen goes for the corner – Ireland pile in on defence and shove him into touch. We go to the TMO to check. No try.

Ireland have won!

The full time score is South Africa 20 (13) Ireland 26 (13)


South Africa
Tries – L.Mvovo, P. du Toit
Pen – P.Lambie, E.Jantjies
Con – E Jantjies 2
Drop –
Cards – Lood de Jager (10th min yellow)

Tries – J.Payne, C.Murray
Pen – P.Jackson 3
Con – P.Jackson 2
Drop – P.Jackson
Cards –  CJ Stander (22nd min Red),  R.Henshaw (31st min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France)
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner (Australia),
Assistant Ref 2:Matthew Carley (England)


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Warren Whiteley, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Jesse Kriel


15 Jared Payne, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Jordi Murphy, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best (c), 1 Jack McGrath

Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Finlay Bealham, 18 Tadhg Furlong, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 Rhys Ruddock, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Craig Gilroy

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.