Super Rugby

Chiefs beat Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth




The first match in Super Rugby Round 3 on South African soil is in Port Elizabeth where the Southern Kings host the Chiefs from Hamilton.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Aaron Cruden kicks off and we are underway.

1.00: The Chiefs make a good solid start to the match and win a penalty for collapsing the maul.  They will go for posts.

2.00: Louis Fouche takes the kick from well out. He just nails it.

5.00: The Chiefs push the Kings back into their half with a territory kick. The Kings win the line out and again the Chiefs concede a penalty for collapsing the maul. Fouche kicks for touch again.

6.00: Another penalty against the Chiefs from South African referee  Jaco van Heerden. The Chiefs are starting to look confused about the decisions.

7.00: The Chiefs enjoy a break down the middle of the field (Ngatai) but the Kings get the ball from a loose pass and counter attack.

9.00: The Kings concede a penalty. Cruden kicks for touch.

11.00: Penalty to the Chiefs. Damian McKenzie takes the shot. He nails it. The scores are level.

12.00: Steven Sykes slips off the back of a line out maul and goes for the line. He is held up so the Kings have a 5m scrum.

15.00: Penalty for collapsing the maul to the Kings. Fouche will kick for posts. He nails it.

The Chiefs work the ball into the Kings 22. There is a patient build up. Ngatai almost gets through but the Chiefs recycle and drive over the line and score. TRY! Sam Cane.

21.00: McKenzie slots the conversion.

24.00: Penalty to the Kings from the scrum. Fouche lines up the posts. He nails it.

26.00: The touchie comes in and reports a late tackle by the Chiefs. They earn a penalty from it. Fouche takes the kick and nails it. Kings lead.

30.00: The Chiefs work the ball back into the Kings 22. The Kings fail to release so the Chiefs have a penalty in front of the posts. McKenzie lines up the posts. He nails it. The Chiefs lead.

31.00: The Chiefs break out down the wing. Glen Fisiiahi is taken down by Malcolm Jaer. The Chiefs recycle and Damien McKenzie slips through and scores. TRY!

33.00: McKenzie converts his try.

36.00: The game gets a little loose and the Chiefs grab the ball in the Kings 22 and after a break from Brad Weber,  Taleni Seu crashes over to score. TRY!

37.00:McKenzie adds the conversion.

39.00: The Kings win a penalty in the Chiefs 22. They set up a maul and drive over the line. Edgar Marutlulle scores. TRY!

40.00: Fouche misses the conversion.

Its half time.

The half time score was Southern Kings 17 Chiefs 27

The Kings kick off and we are underway.

43.00: The Chiefs slice through the Kings defence after a line out and Charlie Ngatai scores the Chiefs fourth TRY!

44.00: McKenzie takes the conversion kick and nails it.

The Chiefs expose the Kings again outwide. The Kings spill the ball and the Chiefs run it down the wing. They suck in the last defender and Cruden gets the ball and scores. TRY!

46.00: McKenzie again adds the conversion.

51.00: The Kings look to hit back and they strike in the corner. Jaco van Tonder goes over but puts a foot in touch. The TMO checks.

52.00: The Chiefs throw the ball around at the line out but they lose the ball. The Kings pounce and Marutlulle scores the TRY!

53.00 Fouche adds the conversion.

57.00: The Chiefs threaten out wide again but the ball is lost and a foot goes into touch. Cruden comes off so Mckenzie moves from 15 to 10.

60.00: The Chiefs work the ball to the line again. They go through the phases and Sam Cane dives over to score. TRY !

62.00: McKenzie slots the conversion. Cane is replaced.

65.00; The Kings get trapped with the ball in the in-goal area. 5m scrum. The Kings concede a penalty. The Chiefs choose a penalty. Hika Elliot who flew in earlier today is now on for the Chiefs.

67.00: After several phases on attack the Chiefs win a penalty. Martin Bezuidenhout is yellow carded for cynical play – killing the ball. Chiefs choose the scrum.

68.00: The Chiefs win the scrum and they go wide and Glen Fisiiahi slips through and scores the Chiefs seventh TRY.

69.00: McKenzie adds the conversion. Rennie brings on his bench to rotate the players.

74.00: The Kings work the ball to the Chiefs 22. They get a line out and win the line out but a player does not release after being tackled so the Chiefs get a penalty. McKenzie kicks for touch.

77.00: Kerr-Barlow splits the Kings defence and is then caught. He spreads the ball wide and the Chiefs go from side to side on the attack. Elliot almost goes over. The ball is lost.

78.00: Bezuidenhout comes back on from the bin.

79.00: Penalty for not rolling away to the Kings. They kick upfield and the Chiefs counter attack. The siren sounds. Penalty to the Kings.

The Kings kick for touch and the line out. The Kings win the line out and attack. The Chiefs turn the ball over and Anton Lienert-Brown races away. He is caught by Jaer but the Kings win a penalty. They will kick for posts to end the match.

McKenzie takes the kick and nails it.

Thats it. The Chiefs win.

The full time score is Southern Kings 24 (17) Chiefs 58 (27)


Southern Kings
Tries – E. Marutlulle 2
Pen – L.Fouche 4
Con – L.Fouche
Drop –
Cards – M.Bezuidenhout (68th min yellow)

Tries – S.Cane 2, D.McKenzie, T.Seu, C.Ngatai, A.Cruden, G.Fisiiahi
Pen – D.McKenzie 3
Con – D.McKenzie 7
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 2:Rodney Bonaparte
TMO :Johan Greeff


Southern Kings

15. Jurgen Visser, 14. Luzuko Vulindlu, 13. Stefan Watermeyer, 12. Shane Gates, 11. Malcolm Jaer, 10. Louis Fouche, 9. Ntando Kebe, 8. Jacques Engelbrecht, 7. Thembelani Bholi, 6. Chris Cloete, 5. John Charles Astle, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Jacobie Adriaanse, 2. Edgar Marutlulle, 1. Schalk Ferreira

Replacments : 16. Sithembiso (Sti) Sithole, 17. Martin Bezuidenhout, 18. Tom Botha, 19. Schalk Oelofse, 20. Cyril-John Velleman, 21. Kevin Luiters, 22. Elgar Watts, 23. Jaco van Tonder


1. Mitchell Graham , 2. Rhys Marshall , 3. Siate Tokolahi , 4. Michael Allardice , 5. Johan Bardoul , 6. Taleni Seu , 7. Sam Cane (cc) , 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden (cc) , 11. James Lowe , 12. Charlie Ngatai , 13. Seta Tamanivalu , 14. Glen Fisiiahi , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Hika Elliot , 17. Pauliasi Manu , 18. Atu Moli** , 19. James Tucker** , 20. Maama Vaipulu , 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 22. Anton Lienert-Brown , 23. Sam McNicol*

*denotes Chiefs debut
**denotes Super Rugby debutant

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.