Rugby Championship News

Springboks release five players from Rugby championship squad




Springbok head coach Allister Coetzee has released Warrick Gelant (fullback), Lizo Gqoboka (prop, both Blue Bulls), Oupa Mohoje (flank), Francois Venter (centre, both Free State Cheetahs) and Dillyn Leyds (wing, Western Province) to their provincial teams for Currie Cup duty,

The five players are members of the Springbok squad who are currently fine-tuning their preparations for the weekend’s opening Rugby Championship match against Argentina.

They were released to their respective Provinces on Tuesday afternoon.

Saturday’s first round fixture of the 2017 Rugby Championship campaign starts in the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

The Springbok match day squad will be named on Thursday while the 28 man squad that leaves for Salta, Argentina on Wednesday 23 August will be announced next Tuesday, 22 August 2017.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.