Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Staniforth wins Force player of the year

Exciting try-scoring centre Scott Staniforth has won The West Australian/Rosendorff/Rolex Emirates Western Force Player of the Year Award.

The award was formally announced tonight at the Emirates Western Force End of Year function at the Burswood Entertainment Complex in Perth, attended by more than 900 people.

The fast and powerful 28 year old is the first player to win the award, a magnificent Rolex Daytona watch valued at $16,000 kindly provided by Rosendorff jewellers and Rolex.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Staniforth finished on 19 points, ahead of Emirates Western Force captain Nathan Sharpe on 15 points and fellow Wallaby squad member Cameron Shepherd on 10.

Tonight’s award follows his equal-second placing in this year’s Tooheys New Australian Super 14 Player of the Series Award, announced on Wednesday.

Staniforth had a stunning season for the Emirates Western Force, scoring nine tries and winning reselection ‘ four years after his last Wallaby appearance ‘ in the Australian squad.

The No.12, who switched to inside centre from the wing in round 4 of the Super 14 series, played three times for the Wallabies early in his career, debuting with two tries against the USA in the 1999 World Cup.

He joined the Perth team from English club London Irish in December, where he also earned the Player of the Year award.

The highlight of his season was possibly a trio of tries in the Emirates Western Force’s 34-34 draw against the Cats in Johannesburg on April 28 or the match-winning try against the Cheetahs in Kimberley the following week.

Staniforth said it was a great thrill and honour to win the award, and he thanked Rossendorff jewellers, The West Australian newspaper, Rolex and Meads Restaurants.

‘It’s a great privilege to win this award, particularly with it being voted on by my peers, the players, and with this being the club’s first year.’

2006 The West Australian/Rosendorff/Rolex Player of the Year Award ‘ Vote Recipients


Scott Staniforth


Nathan Sharpe


Cameron Shepherd


Scott Fava


Dave Pusey


Matt Hodgson


Richard Brown


James Hilgendorf


Brendan Cannon


Digby Ioane


Tai McIsaac


Haig Sare


Angus Scott


Chris O’Young


Exit mobile version