Steyn kicks Sharks to scrappy Cheetahs victory




The Sharks strengthened their position on top of the Super Rugby standings when they beat the Cheetahs 19-8 in Durban.

Both teams scored one try each and the difference came down to penalty kicks with Frans Steyn kicking three of the Sharks four penalties. Tim Swiel kicked the other Sharks penalty.

Jean Deysel scored a late try to help the Sharks consolidate their position
in the Super Rugby standings.

The flanker crossed with nine minutes to play after Ryno Benjamin’s 65th minute
score had briefly given the visitors hope in a game that lacked any energy or

Eleven of the home side’s other points came via the boot of Frans Steyn during
the second half, but coach Jake White will be pleased after his side moved six
points clear at the summit despite their unimpressive display on the east coast.

Tim Swiel, making his full debut, was in the thick of the action early on squandering
a chance to settle any nerves by missing a penalty and then making a darting
run through a hole, only to deliver a wayward pass.

At the other end, Elgar Watts was much more accurate with his first kick at
goal, following an off-side call against the hosts, as the Cheetahs led after
five minutes.

Both sides then appeared to drift into slow motion with no further points coming
for over 25 minutes.

There were a few moments of excitement for the hosts in that period, though,
with another debutant Tonderai Chavhanga showing promising signs down the left.

The Sharks finally had their first points in the 34th minute when the visitors
were punished for not releasing and Swiel found his range.

Another kickable penalty followed for side entry against Jean Cook, but the
Sharks opted to set up a line-out that came to nothing.

Then on the half-time hooter Swiel missed another straightforward kick. He
missed to the left after Heinrich Brussow was punished for not releasing, leaving
the sides all square at the break.

The Sharks took the lead for the first time six minutes into the second half
when kicking duty shifted to Steyn, who knocked over his first chance after
Maks Van Dyk was penalised for illegal scrumming by referee Jaco Peyper.

They went even further ahead another six minutes on when Boom Prinsloo was
called for collapsing a maul and Steyn banged over a monstrous 45-metre penalty.

The visitors were reduced to 14-men just after the hour as Brussow was yellow
carded for hands constantly in the ruck after Cook had initially inexplicably
knocked on right in front of goal with Steyn making it 12-3 from right in front.

However, there was a response to come from the Cheetahs, and after Watts missed
a penalty from distance, Benjamin crossed for a try on the left when Steyn’s
attempted clearance was charged down by Hennie Daniller.

Watts missed the subsequent conversion, although it was a four-point ball game
with 14 minutes to play.

But Deysel ended any hopes of an upset when he went over on the left after
Swiel initially carved open the defence by running through a hole in the visiting

Final Score Sharks’19 (3) Cheetahs’8 (3)


Tries – J.Deysel
Pen – T.Swiel, F.Steyn 3
Con – F.Steyn
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – R. Benjamin
Pen – E.Watts
Con –
Drop –
Cards – H. Brussow (61st min yellow)

Match Officials
Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 2: Marius Jonker
TMO: Deon van Blommenstein



15. Lwazi Mvovo , 14.Jaco van Tonder’, 13. S’bura Sithole , 12. Frans Steyn , 11. Tonderai Chavhanga , 10. Tim Swiel , 9. Charl McLeod , 8. Keegan Daniel , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Willem Alberts , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (C) , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements :16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen , 20. Ryan Kankowski , 21. Stefan Ungerer , 22. Heimar Williams , 23. SP Marais


Hennie Daniller, Cornal Hendricks, Johann Sadie, Rayno Benjamin, Willie le Roux, Elgar Watts, Sarel Pretorius, Boom Prinsloo, Jean Cook, Heinrich Brussow, Francois Uys, Lodewyk de Jager, Maks van Dyk, Adriaan Strauss (captain), Caylib Oosthuizen.

Replacements: Ryno Barnes, Trevor Nyakane, Rossouw de Klerk, Andries Ferreira, Teboho Mohoje, Shaun Venter, Riaan Smit, Raymond Rhule.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.