Stormers beat Crusaders




The Stormers held off a late charge by the Crusaders to get their first win at home this season but more importantly the Crusaders first loss this season.

The Stormers led throughout the match taking the lead in the 2nd minute. The Crusaders spent much of the match trailing the Stormers on 3 points which came from a Cameron McIntyre penalty in the 5th minute,

Just after the half time The Stormers piled pressure on the Crusaders line and after a number of Stormers attempts Peter Grant saw a gap and went over to score the Stormers second try.

Fearing that they could be getting left behind Crusaders coach Robbie Deans sent on Daniel Carter in the 44th minute. The Stormers defence was in full swing as the Crusaders spent a lot of time in the Stormers 25 but they could not find a way through for the try.

It wasn’t until the 68th minute when Johnny Leo’o went over the line that the Crusaders increased their score to 10. The Stormers responded to the Crusaders resurgence and Peter Grant drew in two tacklers and then passed the ball to Eddie Andrews who scored the Stormers third try.

In the 80th minute Rico Gear scored a great try in the corner and his try was converted by Carter but it was a case of too little too late.

The Stormers Joe van Niekerk won man of the match. and the Final Score was Stormers 28 Crusaders 17

The Crusaders are still second on the table as the Waratahs (who are surely very happy now) lead on points difference. The Crusaders face the Bulls next week. The Stormers face the Sharks.


Tries – De Wet Barry, Peter Grant, Eddie Andrews
Conversion – Peter Grant (2)
Penalty – Peter Grant (2)

Tries – Johnny Leo’o,
Conversion – Daniel Carter
Penalties – Cameron McIntyre

Referee – James Leckie 



15 Johan Pietersen, 14 Rayno Benjamin, 13 Marius Joubert, 12 De Wet Barry (c), 11 Jean de Villiers, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Joe van Niekerk, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Luke Watson, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Ross Skeate, 3 Eddie Andrews, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 JD Moller.

Reserves: 16 Hanyani Shimange, 17 Neil Fullard, 18 Gerrie Britz, 19 Adri Badenhorst, 20 Bolla Conradie, 21 Naas Olivier, 22 Chumani Booi.


15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Rico Gear, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 Aaron Mauger, 11 Caleb Ralph, 10 Cameron McIntyre, 9 Kevin Senio, 8 Mose Tuiali’i, 7 Johnny Leo’o, 6 Reuben Thorne (c), 5 Brad Mika, 4 Chris Jack, 3 Campbell Johnstone, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Greg Somerville.

Reserves: 16 Tone Kopelani, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Craig Clarke, 19 Tanerau Latimer, 20 Andrew Ellis, 21 Daniel Carter, 22 Leon MacDonald.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.