Stormers blow Cheetahs away



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


This was a live score update – Full report to follow





The Stormers finished their away leg on top form and often when teams have the bye they have just had,  they lose their way. The Stormers however have home advantage over their upcoming matches to nurse them back into form.

Saturday April 12
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Referee: Mark Lawrence (South Africa)
Assistant Referees : Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa), Pro Legoete (South Africa)
TV Match Official : Johan Meuwesen (South Africa)
Reviewer/Perf. Auditor : Arrie Schoonwinkel (South Africa)Head-to-Head: Played 2, Cheetahs 2, Stormers 0
In Cape Town: Played 1, Cheetahs 1, Stormers 0
Last season: Round 1, February 4 2007: Cheetahs 27-9 Stormers at Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein


Match detail


0.00 : We are waiting for the kick off.


2.00: The Stormers got the perfect start by scoring a try in the second minute of the match as Ricky Januarie dives over the line.


2.00: Peter Grant slots the conversion.


11.00: The Stormers work the ball through the phases as Luke Watson passes to Andries Bekker who runs the rest of the field to score in the corner. The TV ref says he was not in touch and the try is awarded.


11.00: Peter Grant’s conversion hits the post and bounces out.


17.00: The Stormers give away a kickable penalty so Jacques-Louis Potgieter takes a shot at the posts and slots it.  


33.00: Tonderai Chavhanga reaches for the tryline but he is bungled into touch.


35.00: Jean De Villiers breaks through the Cheetahs defence and passes to Conrad Jantjes who scores the try. Confirmed by the tv ref.


The Stormers are now in the hunt for the bonus point try.


37.00: Peter Grant slots the conversion.


39.00: The Stormers swing the ball from side to side.


40.00: The hooter goes for half time.


40.05; The ball gets to Sireli Naqelevuki who dives over to score the bonus point try.


41.00: Peter Grant misses the conversion.


The half time Score is Stormers 24 Cheetahs 3


43.00: The Stormers picked up exactly where they left off in the first half by scoring a try after three minutes in the second half as  Sireli Naqelevuki broke free from the Cheetahs defence (three tackles).


44.00: Peter Grant slotted the conversion.


54.00: The Cheetahs set up a position where they look certain to score a try but the pass is awful and the chance goes begging.


56.00: The Cheetahs finally get a try as Heinrich Br’ssow rolls over the try-line from a maul.


56.00: The conversion is missed.


63.00: The Cheetahs score another try as Conrad Barnard picks the ball up inches away from the tryline after JW Jonker places the ball short.


64.00: Conrad Barnard converts his own try.


66.00: The Cheetahs give away a penalty so Peter Grant takes a shot at goal and slots it.


67.00: The Cheetahs score their third try as Richardt Strauss scores.


68.00: Conrad Barnard slots the conversion.


79.00:  Sireli Naqelevuki makes a break for his third try but he is called back.


80.10: The siren goes for full time.


The  full time score is Stormers 34 Cheetahs 22


Man of the match – Tonderai Chavhanga


Full report to follow





Tries -Januarie, Bekker ,Jantjes , Naqelevuki (2)

Pen –

Con – Peter Grant (4)  




Tries -Br’ssow , Barnard, Strauss

Pen -Jacques-Louis Potgieter

Con – Conrad Barnard (2)





15. Conrad Jantjes,14. Tonderai Chavhanga,13. Gcobani Bobo,12. Jean De Villiers (C),11. Sireli Naqelevuki,10. Peter Grant,9. Ricky Januarie,8. Luke Watson,7 Francois Louw,6. Schalk Burger,5. Andries Bekker,4. Adriaan Fondse,3. Brian Mujati,2. Schalk Brits,1. JD Moller


Reserves:16. Tiaan Liebenberg,17. Brok Harris,18. Ross Skeate,19. Robbie Diack,20. Bolla Conradie,21. Tony Brown,22. Gio Aplon.


Hennie Daniller; Eddie Fredericks, JW Jonker, Meyer Bosman, Jongi Nokwe; Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Tewis de Bruyn; Duanne Vermeulen, Juan Smith, Heinrich Br’ssow, Barend Pieterse, Rory Duncan, CJ van der Linde, Adriaan Strauss, Wian du Preez.
Reserves: Richardt Strauss, Bees Roux, David de Villiers, Hendro Scholtz, Falie Oelschig, Conrad Barnard, Hendrik Meyer.   

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.