Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Stormers edge Jaguares in thriller at Newlands

CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA - MARCH 04: EW Viljoen of the Stormers scores a try during the Super Rugby match between DHL Stormers and Jaguares at DHL Newlands Stadium on March 04, 2017 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

The Stormers won a hard fought game 32-25 against the Jaguares at Newlands Stadium in Cape Town

The Stormers led 17-11 at the break through tries from EW Viljoen and Jano Vermaak, either side of Agustín Creevy’s score.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Jean-Luc Du Plessis kicked an early second half penalty but 10 unanswered points saw the Jaguares hit back.

The match was in the balance as the home team led 20-18 going into the last quarter.

The Stormers extended their lead with a penalty – after two yellow cards looked to have buried the opposition.

Santiago Cordero’s second drew the South Americans to within two until SP Marais’s try, eight minutes from time, settled the encounter.

Next week the Stormers travel to Port Elizabeth to play the Southern Kings while the Jaguares host the Lions in Buenos Aires.

More to follow.

Final Score Stormers 32 (17) Jaguares 25 (11)


Tries – Viljoen, Vermaak, Penalty try, Marais
Pen – Du Plessis (2)
Con – Du Plessis (2)
Drop –

Cards –

Tries – Creevy, Cordero (2)
Pen – Sánchez (2)
Con – Sánchez, González Iglesias
Drop –

Cards – (2) Matera (Yellow, 61st minute), Moroni (Yellow, 63rd minute)

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Ref 2:Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO :Shaun Veldsman



15 SP Marais, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Siya Kolisi (captain), 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth (vice-captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.

Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Dewaldt Duvenage, 22 Robert du Preez, 23 Seabelo Senatla.


15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Ramiro Moyano, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Tomás Lezana, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Matías Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Felipe Arregui, 2 Agustín Creevy (c), 1 Santiago García Botta

Replacements: 16 Julián Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Cristian Bartoloni, 19 Marcos Kremer, 20 Benjamín Macome, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Matías Moroni

Exit mobile version