Super 14 Rugby

Stormers hammer hapless Force



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


This was a live match report – Report to follow.







The Force are having their best ever season and as we said two weeks ago they are looking like contenders for the play offs. In 2007 they finished in seventh place 10 points behind the Semi finalists on 32.



Friday March 28
Venue : Subiaco Oval, Perth
Referee: Lyndon Bray (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees : Vinny Munro (New Zealand), Geoff Acton (Australia)
TV Match Official : Steve Leszczynski (Australia)
Reviewer/Perf. Auditor : Brendan McCormick (Australia)
Head-to-Head: Played 2, Force 1, Stormers 1
In Perth: Played 1, Stormers 1, Force 0
Last season: Round 2, February 10 2007: Force 22-3 Stormers at Newlands, Cape Town


Match Detail


0.00: We are waiting for the kick off.


0.48: The Stormers Tonderai Chavhanga scored a try after 48 seconds from a Conrad Jantjes chip kick.


1.00: Peter Grant converted the try.


15.00: The Froce break through the Stormers defence. Matt Giteau breaks past de Villiers and passes to Drew Mitchell who scores a brilliantly finished try in the corner.


16.00: Matt Giteau missed the conversion.


19.00: Schalk Burger gets a warning for a dangerous tackle but gives away a penalty. Matt Giteau slotted a penalty to put the Force in front.


21.00: Tonderai Chavhanga breaks through to score a second Stormers try under the posts.


22.00: Peter Grant slots the conversion.


29.00: The Stormers gave another penalty away but Matt Giteau was unable to convert it into points.


32.00: The Force were next to give a penalty away and Peter Grant kicked to extend the Stormers lead.


35.00: Schalk Burger was yellow carded for another dangerous tackle this time on Matt Giteau.


36.00: Giteau took the penalty which brough the Force to within six.  


39.00: Ryan Cross gave a silly penalty away at the end of the first half so Peter Grant had a shot at goal and slotted the penalty.


The Half time Score was Force 11 Stormers 20


40.00: The second half is underway.


45.00: Peter Grant has a shot at goal but misses.


48.00: There is a passage of broken play where both sides look like they could score a try. Tonderai Chavanga seems to be everywhere in search of his hat-trick try.


49.00: Schalk Burger comes back on and makes a break for the line and falls just short of the line but more impotantly he goes into touch.


51.00: Tony Brown comes on for the Stormers. The Force then give a penalty away Peter Grant takes a shot at goal but slices it. 


54.00: The Force continue to be their own worst enemy and simply don’t have the intensity that they have had over the past weeks.


61.00: The Stormers get another penalty awarded to them and again Peter Grant misses the kick.


64.00: The Stormers get an intercept try from Jean de Villiers who runs almost the half length of the field. That must be the hammer blow for the Force.


The Stormers are now in the hunt for the Bonus point try.


65.00: Peter Grant slots the conversion.


70.00: The Stormers get their bonus point try as JD Moller scores for the visitors.


71.00: Tony Brown takes the conversion but slices it.


78.00: The Force finally show some form and Ryan Cross reached out to score a try for the Force.


79.00: Cameron Shepherd took the conversion but just as the Force have been all day – it’s bad and he misses.


The full time score is Force 16 Stormers 32


Report to follow.





Tries – Drew Mitchell, Ryan Cross

Pen – Matt Giteau (2)

Con –



Tries – Tonderai Chavhanga (2), Jean de Villiers ,JD Moller

Pen – Peter Grant (2)

Con – Peter Grant (3)
Cards – Schalk Burger (yellow)



1. Pek Cowan,2. Tai McIsaac,3. AJ Whalley,4. Tom Hockings,5. Nathan Sharpe (c),6. Scott Fava,7. David Pocock,8. Richard Brown,9. Chris O’Young,10. Matt Giteau (vc),11. Drew Mitchell,12. Scott Daruda,13. Ryan Cross,14. Scott Staniforth,15. Cameron Shepherd

Reserves:16. Luke Holmes,17. Troy Takiari,18. Sam Wykes,19. Tamaiti Horua,20. James Stannard,21. Lachlan MacKay,22. Nick Cummins.


Conrad Jantjes; Tonderai Chavhanga, Gcobani Bobo, Jean de Villiers (c), Sireli Naqelevuki; Peter Grant, Ricky Januarie; Luke Watson, Francois Louw, Schalk Burger, Andries Bekker, Ross Skeate, Brian Mujati, Schalk Brits, JD Moller.

Reserves – Tiaan Liebenberg, Brok Harris, Adriaan Fondse, Robbie Diack, Conrad Hoffmann, Gio Aplon, Tony Brown.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.