Stormers in selection shake-up



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Stormers coach Kobus van der Merwe has made seven changes to his under-performing team ahead of their Super 14 Round Three match against the Chiefs at Newlands on Friday.

The biggest shake-up is in the backline, where there are four changes – including a positional switch – as the coach tries to unlock his team’s try-scoring potential. The Cape franchise have been unable to score a try in their first two games, which they lost to the Cheetahs and Western Force.

Conrad Jantjes moves from left wing to fullback in place of an out-of-sorts Gio Aplon, with Dylan des Fountain coming in on the left win for his Super 14 debut.

Peter Grant replaces Naas Olivier at fly-half and young JP Joubert comes in at scrum-half for Springbok Bolla Conradie.

Up front Robbie Diack comes in at number eight for the injured Joe van Niekerk, Brok Harris will play at tighthead prop in place of Eddie Andrews and Tiaan Liebenberg takes over at hooker from Schalk Brits.

More to follow …

Stormers: 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Breyton Paulse, 13 Corne Uys, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Dylan des Fountain, 10 Peter Grant, 9 JP Joubert, 8 Robbie Diack, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Luke Watson (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Gerrie Britz, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 JD Moller.
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Eddie Andrews, 18 Schalk Ferreira, 19 Francois van der Merwe, 20 Justin Melck, 21 Bolla Conradie, 22 Brent Russell

Date: Friday, 16 February
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 18.30 (16.30 GMT)
Referee: Paul Marks (Australia)
Touch judges: Brett Bowden (Australia), Willie Roos (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

365 Digital

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.