Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Stormers name new forward pack for Jaguares

Stormers stand-in skipper Steven Kitshoff has been named to play this weekend

Stormers stand-in skipper Steven Kitshoff has been named to play this weekend

Stormers Super rugby head coach Robbie Fleck has named a team with six changes to the side to play the Jaguares in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

Fleck has made five changes to the Stormers forward pack and one in the backline for this weekend’s match.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The Stormers will be looking for their sixth win this season when they face the South American team at the Estadio Jose Amalfitani.

The only change to the backline sees Dan Kriel back at inside centre, with Damian de Allende among the replacements.

Up front, tighthead prop Wilco Louw and hooker Bongi Mbonambi join stand-in skipper Steven Kitshoff in the front row, with Neethling Fouche coming into the match-day squad as a replacement.

Eben Etzebeth is back in the starting line-up and will line up in the second row alongside JD Schickerling, with Cobus Wiese shifting to blindside flank in place of the injured Pieter-Steph du Toit and a fit-again Jaco Coetzee on the openside in the absence of regular captain Siya Kolisi, who is being rested.

Sikhumbuzo Notshe also makes his return from injury and is expected to make an impact from the replacements bench, along with utility forward Johan du Toit.

Stormers Head Coach Robbie Fleck said that his team will leave nothing out on the pitch in Buenos Aires.

“With a bye coming up next week we want to do everything we can to get another win on the road.

“We are excited about what this combination can achieve and will be looking to execute as accurately as possible while putting in maximum effort,” he said.


15 Damian Willemse, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Kobus van Dyk, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Jaco Coetzee , 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff (c).

Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Johan du Toit, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 Damian de Allende, 23 Seabelo Senatla.

Exit mobile version