Super Rugby

Stormers start du Plessis at flyhalf against Sunwolves



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Stormers head coach Robbie Fleck has named Jean-Luc du Plessis to make his starting debut at flyhalf against the Sunwolves at Newlands.

The team named by Fleck also features Damian de Allende and Rynhardt Elstadt for the first time this season and both will come off the replacements bench.

Kurt Coleman and Nic Groom are both injured so Fleck has made two changes to the backline that started the Stormers 13-8 victory over the Jaguares in Buenos Aires.

Scrumhalf Louis Schreuder will partner flyhalf du Plessis, who makes his Stormers starting debut, whilst Godlen Masimla will provide cover at No.9 from the replacements bench.

In the front row a rotational switch sees props Oli Kebble and Vincent Koch come back into the starting line-up, with JC Janse van Rensburg and Frans Malherbe taking their place amongst the replacements.

Pieter-Steph du Toit returns at lock after being rested against the Jaguares, whilst JD Schickerling will join him in the second row following an injury to Eben Etzebeth during the week.

The final change sees Schalk Burger come back into the starting line-up at No.8, with Nizaam Carr starting as a replacement for the first time this season.

Stormers Head Coach Robbie Fleck said that following a well-deserved bye week his team is determined to continue their winning momentum.

“The bye was definitely welcome after five hard games to start the season, and the challenge now is to build on what we have achieved thus far.

“It is great to be back at Newlands, and hopefully we will be able to make the most of the home support,” he said.


15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Juan de Jongh (co-captain), 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 JD Schickerling, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Oli Kebble.

Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Frans Malherbe (co-captain), 19 Rynhardt Elstadt, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Huw Jones, 23 Damian de Allende.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.