Stormers Super Rugby



Stormers Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | Squad | Video | Betting |

Stormers Super Rugby History

Stormers Super Rugby History

The Stormers are based in Cape Town and centred around the Western Province union, but also draw players from the Boland Cavaliers (Wellington).

Through 2005, they also drew players from the Eagles (George), which meant that they drew players from all three unions in the Western Cape Province.

However, the general realignment of franchise areas resulting from the expansion of the competition resulted in the Eagles being moved to the Spears who are managed by the Southern and Eastern Cape franchise and was supposed to enter the Super 14 in 2007.

In 1996, the Stormers competed in the Super 12 as Western Province. In 1997, they did not compete, the 4th South African team being the Orange Free State. The Orange Free State is now the Central Cheetahs.

They have only ever reached the final of the Super 12/14 competition once in 2010, having been eliminated in the semi-finals in their other best years, 1999, 2004, 2011 and 2012.

Super 15 postions

2015 .. 3rd lost 19-39 to the Brumbies in Qualifying play off
2014 .. 11th
2013 .. 7th (3rd in SA Conference)
2012 .. 3rd/4th (beaten in the Semi-finals by the Sharks after finishing 1st and winning SA Conference)
2011 .. 3rd/4th (beaten in the Semi-finals by the Crusaders after winning SA Conference)

Super 14 positions

2010 .. 2nd
2009 .. 10th
2008 .. 5th
2007 .. 10th
2006 .. 11th

Super 12 positions

2005 .. 9th
2004 .. 3rd .. (lost semi-final to Crusaders)
2003 .. 9th
2002 .. 7th
2001 .. 7th
2000 .. 5th
1999 .. 4th .. (lost semi-final to Otago Highlanders)
1998 .. 9th
1996 .. 11th




For more Stormers Super Rugby News click on


Brought to you by the leading Super Rugby site.