Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Stormers v Sunwolves Super Rugby Rd.7 Preview

Shota Horie leads the Sunwolves out for a match

Shota Horie leads the Sunwolves out for a match

Super Rugby moves to South Africa in the final match on Friday Round 7 where the Stormers host the Sunwolves in an all Africa 1 Conference clash.

The Sunwolves are still winless after five matches but they are not far off the pace as in three matches they have earned the losing bonus point. Last week they lost to the Southern Kings.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The Stormers have also played five matches but they top the South African Group having won four of their five clashes.

The Stormers had a bye last week and their last match was against the Jaguares in Round five in Buenos Aires. They won the match 8-13 but it came at a cost with injuries.

The Stormers have lost Kurt Coleman for the season and Eben Etzebeth for up to six weeks. This week Stormers coach Robbie Fleck has named Jean-Luc du Plessis at flyhalf and Damian de Allende and Rynhardt Elstadt for the first time this season and both will come off the replacements bench.

Scrumhalf Louis Schreuder will partner flyhalf du Plessis, who makes his Stormers starting debut, whilst Godlen Masimla will provide cover at No.9 from the replacements bench.

In the front row a rotational switch sees props Oli Kebble and Vincent Koch come back into the starting line-up, with JC Janse van Rensburg and Frans Malherbe taking their place amongst the replacements.

Pieter-Steph du Toit returns at lock after being rested against the Jaguares, whilst JD Schickerling will join him in the second row following an injury to Eben Etzebeth during the week.

The final change sees Schalk Burger come back into the starting line-up at No.8, with Nizaam Carr starting as a replacement for the first time this season.

The Sunwolves have made big changes for this match and Tusi Pisi sits out. There are two new starting props in Masataka Mikami and Takuma Asahara, while Shinya Makabe comes in at lock to partner Timothy Bond.

Argentine international Tomas Leonardi is also back and starting at No 8. Ed Quirk moves to flank and Andrew Durutalo is now starting off the bench.

In the backline, there is a new starting halfback pair in Yuki Yatomi and Yu Tamura, who replace Kaito Shigeno and Tusi Pisi respectively.

The new centre partnership is Derek Carpenter and Mifiposeti Paea and they replace Yu Tamura and Harumichi Tatekawa.

The Stormers and the Sunwolves have never played each other in Super Rugby so there are no records to give us an idea of what to expect. That said this Sunwolves side appears to have a second string feel about it in places to the Stormers shouldn’t feel the loss of key players too much this week.

The Bookies have given the Sunwolves a 29 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. The Stormers should win this comfortably by 18 or more.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 2.

Average score: N/A

No results

Stormers record against the Sunwolves

Match No.51:Stormers v Sunwolves
Date : Friday 8 April 2016
Venue : Newlands, Cape Town
Kick Off local: 19:00 local
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2:AJ Jacobs
TMO :Johan Greeff



15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Juan de Jongh (co-captain), 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 JD Schickerling, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Oli Kebble.

Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Frans Malherbe (co-captain), 19 Rynhardt Elstadt, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Huw Jones, 23 Damian de Allende.


1-Masataka Mikami, 2 -(c) Shota Horie, 3-Takuma Asahara, 4-Shinya Makabe, 5-Timothy Bond, 6-Liaki Moli ,7-Ed Quirk, 8-Tomas Leonardi , 9-Yuki Yatomi, 10-Yu Tamura, 11-Akihito Yamada, 12-, 13-Mifiposeti Paea, 14-Viliami Lolohea, 15-Riaan Viljoen

Replacements: 16-Takeshi Kizu, 17-Ziun Gu, 18-Shinnosuke Kakinaga, 19-Yoshiya Hosoda ,20-Andrew Durutalo , 21-Atushi Hiwasa, 22-Harumichi Tatekawa , 23- Yasutaka Sasakura.


Exit mobile version