Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Stormers beat Hurricanes in Cape Town

Super Rugby live scores - Live Super rugby scoring

Super Rugby live scores - Live Super rugby scoring

The Stormers have played the Hurricanes 19 times in Super Rugby since 1998, the Stormers have won 10 matches and lost nine.

The Stormers’ 10 wins give them a record of winning 53% of their matches against the Hurricanes regardless of venue.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

This is the last season at Newlands, the world’s oldest Test venue, very sad.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway in South Africa at Newlands where these two teams have not met since 2014. Damian Willemse charges down a clearance kick, to the delight of the home crowd.

2.00: There is a fresh breeze but it is hot and humid. Jamie Roberts makes his Super Rugby debut, while Jordie Barrett plays in his 50th Super Rugby game.

3.00: The Stormers win a penalty for offsides, they kick deep into Canes’ territory, but lose the lineout throw.

5.00: Herschel Jantjies involved in two breaks inside the opposition’s half. The hosts keep the ball moving and win a penalty for hands in the ruck. Willemse kicks to the corner.

6.00: Mbongeni Mbonambi goes over the line, but he is held up. Five-metre scrum to the South Africans.

8.00: TRY! Sergeal Petersen takes Jantjies’ cross-kick on the full and dives in for the score. Wow! 5-0

9.00: MISS! The conversion is wide. 5-0

12.00: There’s a break in play while the medics check on a player. The Stormers have the scrum in a central position on the visitor’s 10m. Reset.

14.00: Fraser Armstrong loses his bind and footing, conceding the penalty. Willemse calls for the tee.

15.00: MISS! Willemse shanks his kick to the left. 5-0

17.00: Jaco Coetzee wins another penalty for the hosts at the breakdown. The Hurricanes are struggling in the set-pieces and at the rucks.

19.00: TRY! The first driving maul is sacked illegally, but Steven Kitshoff crashes over from close range after breaking off the second attempted maul. The prop carried three Hurricanes with him to double the lead.

20.00: CONVERSION! Willemse, finally, lands a kick. 12-0

22.00: The visitors kick a penalty to the corner, but make a mess of the attack, giving the Stormers a reprieve.

24.00: It’s taken 24 minutes for Ngani Laumape to touch the ball.

25.00: Siya Kolisi is down, being checked by the medic before going off. It was a very late hit to his knee that hurt the World Cup-winning captain, and it should have been a yellow card.

26.00: TRY! Herschel Jantjies scoops up a loose pass and races 40 metres to score under the posts. What a player! 17-0

27.00: CONVERSION! Willemse makes no mistake. 19-0

30.00: It’s all Stormers at the moment, while the Hurricanes are the architects of their own downfall.

33.00: Mbonambi’s mistake gifts a scrum to the Kiwis.

36.00: The Hurricanes are way off the pace, the heat and humidity must be taking it out of them.

37.00: The Stormers are leaking penalties at the breakdown.

39.00: The Stormers have an attacking centre-field scrum.

40.00: The Hurricanes win the turnover, and penalty after Dillyn Leyds gets isolated.

41.00: Du’Plessis Kirifi knocked on a last attacking lineout of the half to cap a poor all-round display by the Kiwis.

The halftime score was Stormers 19 Hurricanes 0

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway at this famous old rugby ground. Dobson will be happy with the first stanza, while his opposite number John Plumtree, will be livid with his team’s performance.

44.00: The Hurricanes have gone to the boot since the half began; it looks to be a tactic they forgot during the second quarter.

45.00: Wes Goosen shanks his kick directly out.

47.00: The visitors are struggling to get out of their half.

48.00: Another late hit on Willemse, this time by Billy Proctor, sees the flyhalf on the ground getting checked by the medics.

48.00: YELLOW CARD! Jaco Peyper sends Proctor to the bin.

49.00: Mbonambi leaves the field now, the injuries are starting to mount.

52.00: Oh dear! Willemse throws a forward pass that chalks a try off the board.

55.00: Another handling error, this time after a 12-phase attack by Dobson’s men, kills a guilt-edged chance.

58.00: YELLOW CARD! Vaea Fifita gets his marching orders after a shoulder to Siyabonga Ntubeni’s head. Proctor wasn’t even back on the field.

59.00: PENALTY! Willemse extends the lead with his first penalty. 22-0

63.00: The Stormers win a penalty after another big scrum, and can clear their lines.

66.00: The Stormers defence holds firm again.

69.00: The Stormers will want to keep a shut out here, so no mistakes in defence; the game is over.

71.00: The hosts have an attacking scrum inside the Canes’ 22.

73.00: The Hurricanes go close, but the ball rolls over the dead-ball line; Stormers opt for a scrum to run down the clock.

76.00: Willemse is tackled behind his line, scrum to the Canes.

78.00: TRY! Willemse intercepts a wayward pass and races 95 metres to score in the corner. There’s your dagger! 27-0

79.00: MISS! Willemse, perhaps tired, misses from the corner. 27-0

81.00: The ball goes into touch, game over.


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score after 80 minutes is Stormers 27 (19) Hurricanes 0 (0)


Tries – Petersen, Kitshoff, Jantjies, Willemse
Pen – Willemse
Con – Willemse (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries –
Pen –
Con –
Drop –
Cards – Proctor (Yellow, 48′), Fifita (Yellow, 58′)

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 2: Egon Seconds
TMO: Joey Klaaste-Salmans



15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Siyamthanda Kolisi (captain), 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: 16 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 17 Alister Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 David Meihuizen, 20 Ernst van Rhyn, 21 Johan du Toit, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Rikus Pretorius.


15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Billy Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Fletcher Smith, 9 Thomas Perenara (captain), 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Fraser Armstrong.

Replacements: 16 Asafo Auma, 17 Pouri Rakete-Stones, 18 Tevita Mafileo, 19 Vaea Fifita, 20 Devan Flanders, 21 Jamie Booth, 22 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 23 Vince Aso.

Exit mobile version