Super Rugby

Stormers thrash Sunwolves in Cape Town




Cape Town’s Stormers are third in the overall Super Rugby Conference while the Sunwolves are in 18th place.

The Stormers have played 13 matches and won 8 in 2017 while the Sunwolves have played 13 too but won one.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: BEEP! BEEP! We are underway in Cape Town for the final fixture of Round 16 in Super Rugby.

3.00: EW Viljoen is crunched in the tackle and the Sunwolves will get the put into the scrum after the ball travelled forward.

3.00: YELLOW CARD! Derek Carpenter is sent to the bin, his second of the season.

6.00: The early indication of the Sunwolves’ game-plan looks to be: play in the Stormers’ half; they are kicking everything from inside their half.

8.00: TRY Cheslin Kolbe! The wing wins the foot-race to the rolling ball, gathers and cruises in for the game’s opening try. It came from Damian Willemse’s toe-poke in the ruck: 5-0

9.00: Damian Willemse adds the easy conversion: 7-0

10.00: The Sunwolves win a penalty for a dangerous tackle and will kick at goal.

11.00: PENALTY! Yu Tamura gets the Japanese on the board: 7-3

13.00: Tamura makes a big mistake, misjudging a high ball and letting it roll over the dead ball line after touching it. Scrum to the Stormers on the Sunwolves’ 5-metres line.

15.00: TRY EW Viljoen! After several crash balls by the Cape side, they go wide and Nizaam Carr sends the centre away for the second try of the night; way too easy, again: 12-3

16.00: Willemse adds the conversion to make it: 14-3

19.00: The Sunwolves launch an attack inside the Stormers’ half, but some sloppy handling gifts possession back to the home team.

20.00: TRY Teruya Goto! The winger goes over in the corner after Tamura and Malgene Ilaua combine to set up the try. there was some excellent build up play prior to Tamura making the play: 14-8

21.00: Tamura adds the conversion: 14-10

25.00: The Sunwolves get another penalty for offsides and will take the points.

27.00: Miss! Tamura sends his kick wide: 14-10

30.00: The visitors are not letting the Stormers have everything their own way, rather, they are attacking with intent, it is only their final ball that needs to be better, otherwise, they are creating problems in the Cape team’s defence.

32.00: The Sunwolves find another way to lose the ball in good field position. The Stormers clear and will get the lineout near the halfway.

34.00: Free-kick because Bongi Mbonambi was caught ‘Bokking’ (dummy throwing into the lineout) by the touch judge. Straight away, while attempting to take it quickly, Willie Britz did not release the ball and, therefore, the Stormers get the scrum: two basic errors by both teams, jeez!

37.00: The Sunwolves have had 60 percent possession in so far, wow! Especially good after last week’s nightmare in Johannesburg.

39.00: TRY Seabelo Senatla! It started from the halfway line where Dillyn Leyds – who else? – showed a turn of speed, beat Britz, sped away before launching a deft chip kick for the Sevens flyer to latch onto and score: 19-10

40.00: MISS! The conversion is wide, but the Stormers are putting daylight between them and their opponents: 19-10

The half-time score was Stormers 19 Sunwolves 10

41.00: BEEP! BEEP! The second-half is underway in Cape Town. The Sunwolves will be happy with that first-half display, last week they were already 35-7 down to the Lions, so all is good.

45.00: The Stormers win a scrum penalty and kick to touch, just inside the visitor’s 22.

46.00: TRY Damian Willemse at the double! The flyhalf dances his way through the Sunwolves’ defence and raced clear to score under the sticks: 24-10

47.00: The 19-year-old converts his try: 26-10

49.00: TRY Takeshi Hino! After going eight phases, the hooker dives over to score and the Sunwolves hit back: 26-15

50.00: MISS! The extras cannot be added: 26-15

55.00: Some big hits coming in now from both teams. The Sunwolves are trying to run everything from their 22, but eventually, have to kick the ball away. The Stormers are mounting phases and possession, winning a scrum inside the 22, in the end.

57.00: Dillyn Leyds almost goes over for the try, but his hand is out in touch before dotting down.

58.00: Try Dillyn Leyds! He takes a pass from Nizaam Carr and raced clear to get his try: 31-15

59.00: Willemse adds the extras and that is the game: 33-15

63.00: Justin Phillips loses the ball with the try-line at his mercy. The build up play from Kolbe and Willemse was excellent and Phillips should have scored: poor.

66.00: The Sunwolves have been good tonight, their tackling has been a big improvement on last week and they are creating lots of opportunities; they could, and should have scored more.

68.00: TRY! Leyds gets his second try of the night. The fullback collected the ball in midfield, took it to the gain line, sold a dummy and sped through a big gap in the Sunwolves’ defence, before racing clear: 38-15

69.00: MISS! Willemse hooks his kick and it sails wide: 38-15

72.00: The Japanese are mounting an attack, going through eight phases before being awarded a penalty for offsides. They opt for a scrum on the 22, in centre field.

74.00: The ruck was poorly reffed by Mr Quinton Immelman; it was just a free-for-all. Ultimately, the Stormers won the ball back and are in possession near the halfway line.

76.00: TRY! It is Kolbe’s turn to get a second. The wing kicked a misplaced pass forwards, chased it, gathered and went in untouched: 43-15

77.00: Kolbe converts his try: 45-15

81.00: TRY! Hat-trick for Kolbe! The winger gets another treble and brings up the fifty points for the Cape side: 50-15

82.00: The conversion is good and that is the ball game: 52-15


Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Stormers 52 (19) Sunwolves 15 (10)


Tries – Kolbe (3), Willemse (2), Senatla, Leyds (2)
Pen –
Con – Willemse (4), Kolbe (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Goto, Hino
Pen – Tamura
Con – Tamura
Drop –
Cards – Carpenter (Yellow, 3rd minute)

Match Officials
Referee: Quinton Immelman
Assistant Ref 1: Shuhei Kubo
Assistant Ref 2: AJ Jacobs
TMO: Shaun Veldsman



15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Juarno Augustus, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth (vice-captain), 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.

Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 JD Schickerling, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 Dan Kriel, 23 Bjorn Basson.


15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Kotaro Matsushima, 13 Ryohei Yamanaka, 12 Derek Carpenter, 11 Teruya Goto, 10 Yu Tamura, 9 Keisuke Uchida, 8 Willem Britz (captain), 7 Shuhei Matsuhashi, 6 Malgene Ilaua, 5 Uwe Helu, 4 Kotaro Yatabe, 3 Takuma Asahara, 2 Takeshi Hino, 1 Koki Yamamoto.

Replacements: 16 Atsushi Sakate, 17 Masataka Mikami, 18 Koo Jiwon, 19 Yoshitaka Tokunaga, 20 Shokei Kin, 21 Kaito Shigeno, 22 Rikiya Matsuda, 23 Jumpei Ogura

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.