Super Rugby

Stormers weather Jaguares in close fought encounter




The Stormers edged the Jaguares 32-25 in a hard fought game at Newlands Stadium in Cape Town.

Tries from EW Viljoen, Jano Vermaark, SP Marais and a penalty-try, propelled Robbie Fleck’s team to victory.

The Jaguares were never out of the contest but, another pair of yellow cards in the last 19 minutes, 90 seconds apart, proved costly.

The visitors trailed the Cape team 20-18, going into the final quarter, and were gaining control of the fixture before cynical play – for which they are becoming infamous – put them on the back-foot.

Tired legs could not overcome a two-man disadvantage so late in this intriguing contest. Santiago Cordero’s second try of the game, cancelled out the Stormers’ penalty-try, but the Jaguares ran out of gas

The Stormers led 17-11 at the break through tries from Viljoen and Vermaak, either side of Agustín Creevy’s score. The beginning of the game was cagey with Jean-Luc du Plessis and Nicolás Sánchez trading penalties.

It was the visitors who drew first blood when the visitors were penalised for collapsing a maul. Sánchez kicked deep into the Stormers 22.

From the ruck, Creevy’s powerful leg-drive and some help from Tomás Lezana, scored the game’s first try. Sánchez missed the relatively simple conversion; 3-8.

The home side hit back. Dillyn Leyds started a break, the ball was kicked by Vermaak, regathered, before his pass to the outside centre, levelled the scores. Du Plessis added the extras, 10-8 after 24 minutes.

Vermaak, instrumental in Viljoen’s try, got one for himself after Marais’ speculative kick was collected by Bongi Mbonambi.

The hooker gave the pass to the No 9, on the inside angle, to race away for his first Stormers try. Another successful conversion gave the hosts a six-point halftime lead, after a late Sánchez penalty.

Du Plessis kicked an early second half penalty but 10 unanswered points saw the Jaguares come roaring back. Santiago Cordero scored his first, taking a short pass from Gonzalo Bertranou, near the goal-line.

Santiago González Iglesias added the two, the match, in the balance as the home team led 20-18 going into the last quarter.

The Stormers extended their after referee Jaco Peyper, who had had enough of the cynical play from the Jaguares, awarded a penalty-try. Two quick yellow cards, looked to have buried the opposition.

However, Cordero’s second try after a counter-attack, drew the South Americans to within two until SP Marais’s try, eight minutes from time, settled the encounter.

The fullback, dotting down from Eben Etzebeth’s pop-pass from Ollie Kebble’s good work at the ruck gave the Stormers a seven-point win.

The Stormers have unearthed the future in Du Plessis. Together with Vermaak, this halfback combination is a calm, controlling influence over the young Cape team, who are two from two.

Next week the Stormers travel to Port Elizabeth to play the Southern Kings while the Jaguares host the Lions in Buenos Aires.

Follow @KaylanGeekie on Twitter

Final Score Stormers 32 (17) Jaguares 25 (11)


Tries – Viljoen, Vermaak, Penalty try, Marais
Pen – Du Plessis (2)
Con – Du Plessis (2)
Drop –

Cards –

Tries – Creevy, Cordero (2)
Pen – Sánchez (2)
Con – Sánchez, González Iglesias
Drop –

Cards – (2) Matera (Yellow, 61st minute), Moroni (Yellow, 63rd minute)

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Ref 2:Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO :Shaun Veldsman



15 SP Marais, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Siya Kolisi (captain), 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth (vice-captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.

Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Dewaldt Duvenage, 22 Robert du Preez, 23 Seabelo Senatla.


15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Ramiro Moyano, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Tomás Lezana, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Matías Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Felipe Arregui, 2 Agustín Creevy (c), 1 Santiago García Botta

Replacements: 16 Julián Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Cristian Bartoloni, 19 Marcos Kremer, 20 Benjamín Macome, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Matías Moroni

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.