Super Rugby

Strauss captains Bulls against Stormers




Bulls head coach Nollis Marais has named his team to play the Stormers in their Super Rugby season opener at Newlands with Adriaan Strauss as captain.

The side features a mix of youth and experience as Strauss is one of nine Springboks in the Bulls squad which also features four debutants at Super Rugby level.

Warrick Gelant (fullback), Nic de Jager (flank), Jannes Kirsten (flank) and RG Snyman (lock) will make debuts at this level, with Lizo Gqoboka (prop) and Jason Jenkins (lock) the rookies on the bench.

The likes of Francois Brummer, Tian Schoeman, Roelof Smit, Jaco Visagie and Hencus van Wyk also have only a handful number of games at this level, but that does not faze Marais.

“They are playing for us because they are good enough. I have faith in this group. Yes, we have some injuries, but that is part of the rugby landscape. I back this team to go down to Cape Town and do us proud,” Marais said.

Historically the Bulls have not done well at Newlands in recent times and last won in Cape Town in 2011 and also lost six of their last eight matches to their Cape foes, but Marais believes a new era is looming.

“We certainly will be up against it and could not have asked for a tougher assignment than this. This group of players have the talent to become a special team, so if they can find some continuity and momentum in the game, we will be competitive,” Marais said.

Strauss also expressed confidence.

“We have definite goals for the season. This is a new team, new era and for that matter, a new competition. We have very skilful players and if we can guarantee them enough ball, they will score tries. ”

“We need to be competitive upfront and if we are, I believe we will be in with a good chance. We are playing a very solid team at home though, so does not really have an option to take our best game to Newlands.”


Warrick Gelant , Travis Ismaiel, Jesse Kriel, Jan Serfonteinl, Bjorn Basson, Francois Brummer, Rudy Paige , Arno Botha, Jannes Kirsten , Nic de Jager , Grant Hattingh , RG Snyman, Marcel van der Merwe, Adriaan Strauss (118, c), Trevor Nyakane (58).

Replacements: Jaco Visagie, Lizo Gqoboka , Hencus van Wyk, Jason Jenkins , Roelof Smit , Piet van Zyl , Tian Schoeman , Burger Odendaal.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.