Super Rugby

Sunwolves name 2018 Super Rugby squad



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Sunwolves Super Rugby head coach Jamie Joseph has named his squad for the 2018 Super Rugby season.

Joseph’s restructured Super Rugby squad features five inluding lock Grant Hattingh, prop Ruan Smith, wing Gerhard van den Heever and loose forwards Willie Britz and Wimpie van der Walt

Flanker Van der Walt recently made his international debut for Japan after playing for the Docomo Red Hurricanes in the Japanese Top League.

Former Cheetahs and Lions player Britz played for the Sunwolves in 2017 and had retained his place in the squad.

Ruan Smith has Super Rugby experience from his time with the Brumbies and before that at a lower level with Western Province

Van den Heever has previously played the Stormers and like Hattingh the Bulls.

The Sunwolves will play in the Australasian Conference in 2018 and open their campaign on February 24 against the Brumbies in Tokyo.

Sunwolves 2018 Super Rugby squad

Keita Inagaki, Asaeli Aivalu, Jiwon Koo, Ruan Smith, Craig Millar, Jaba Bradvadze, Shota Horie, Grant Hattingh, Sam Wykes, Kazuki Imeno, Uwe Helu, Edward Quirk, Shunsuke Nunomaki, Wimpie van der Walt, Willie Britz, Michael Leitch, Fumiaki Tanaka, Yu Tamura, Hayden Parker, Harumichi Tatekawa, Timoth Lafaele, Gerhard van den Heever, Kenki Fukuoka, Akihit Yamada, Lamano Lava Lemeki, Robbie Robinson

Sunwolves coaching staff

Jamie Joseph  / Head Coach
Tony Brown / Attack Coach
Scott Hansen / Defense Coach
Shin Hasegawa / Scrum coach
Atsushi Tanabe / Skills Coach

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.