Super Rugby

Sunwolves and Stormers draw in Singapore




Super Rugby moves to Singapore in the third match on Saturday as the Sunwolves host South Africa’s Stormers at the Singapore National Stadium.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

0.01: Tusi Pisi kicks off and the match is underway.

1.00: Early mistakes as the Sunwolves put a foot in touch. The Stormers win a line out but then JD Schickerling knocks the ball on.

2.00: Penalty to the Stormers from the scrum. They will take a shot at the posts.

3.00: Jean-Luc du Plessis takes the kick and nails it. The Stormers lead.

5.00: The Sunwolves win a penalty back and Tusi Pisi will have a kick at goal. He lines up the kick and nails it from almost the half way line.

6.00:The Sunwolves run the ball but as they get to the half way line they knock on. The Stormers win the scrum and run it into the Sunwolves 22.

7.00: Penalty to the Sunwolves. They kick deep and the Stormers try run the ball back.

9.00: Both teams turn to the boot looking for territory. Pisi wins the battle by kicking the ball out from his 22 to the Stormers 22.

12.00: The Sunwolves attack the Stormers and then kick ahead. The Sunwolves chase and and the Stormers scramble. The Sunwolves get to the line but are initially held out. Akihito Yamada gets the ball and dabs it on the line. TRY!

13.00: Pisi misses the conversion. Sunwolves lead.

18.00: The Stormers win a line out near the half way line. They run the ball into the Sunwolves 22. The Stormers go through 12 phases bnut get stuck on the Sunwolves 22m line.

20.00: 22 phases and the Stormers get near the 5m line.

21.00: The Sunwolves hold out for 23 phases and then the Stormers knock on. The Sunwolves win a penalty. They kick upfield.

22.00: The Sunwolves catch the Stormers offside and the Sunwolves win a penalty. Pisi kicks to the corner.

25.00: Penalty to the Sunwolves. Pisi signals that they will kick for posts.

26.00: Pisi slots the penalty and the Sunwolves are into double figures.

27.00: The Sunwolves put in a grubber and chase. They almost get to the ball but it just goes into touch.

31.00: Another penalty to the Sunwolves. Pisi bangs it over and extends the lead. JC Janse van Rensburg has been replaced by Oliver Kebble.

35.00: Yet another penalty for the Sunwolves. Riaan Viljoen takes the shot from inside his half. He misses.

36.00: Viljoen and Jean-Luc du Plessis jump for a high ball and Du Plessis goes down. It was a contest so no foul play. Jean-Luc du Plessis eventually gets back up.

37.00: The Stormers kick and chase. Riaan Viljoen allows the ball to roll over the tryline and dots it down. The Sunwolves get a 22 restart.

39.00: The Stormers run the ball and Pieter-Steph du Toit gets into space. He passes down the line but it goes to Yamada.

40.00: The siren sounds. Its half time.

The half time score was Sunwolves 14 Stormers 3

The Stormers kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: The Stormers concede an early penalty at the breakdown for coming in at the side. Pisi kicks for touch.

43.00: John Stewart limps off and Mifiposeti Paea come on.

45.00: The Sunwolves attack the Stormers in their 22. They go for the corner and initially they are short but they go again. The try is awarded but as Pisi has not taken the conversion yet the TMO is called in to review. The try is disallowed. The Stormers get a penalty instead. Du Plessis kicks for touch.

47.00: After the Stormers line out the Sunwolves get another penalty for offside. Penalty count really mounting against the Stormers.

49.00: Pisi takes the kick and nails it.

52.00: Stormers caught playing the ball on the ground. Penalty to the Sunwolves. Pisi takes the kick but misses.

53.00: Penalty to the Stormers. Du Plessis kicks for touch and the line out.

56.00: The Stormers win the line out and Siya Kolisi almost gets through to score. He is stopped and the Stormers are awarded a penalty.

57.00:: The Stormers take the line out and then win another line out. The Stormers win the line and use the maul. As they get to the posts the Sunwolves turn the ball over and kick it deep.

59.00: The Stormers grind the ball up to the Sunwolves line. They driver over the line and Pieter-Steph du Toit scores. TRY!

60.00: Du Plessis takes the kick and nails it.

65.00: The Stormers win a line out in their half.  A kicking contest follows. The Stormers decide to use the up and under. They win the ball and go through the phases and then lose the ball. Riaan Viljoen kicks the ball upfield and into touch.

68.00: Penalty to the Stormers. They take the line out but they knock on.

73.00: Penalty to the Stormers from the scrum. The Stormers kick for touch.

74.00: The Sunwolves win a penalty after the line out. Pisi kicks for touch.

76.00: The Stormers concede another penalty. Thats the 12th penalty against them. The Sunwolves take the 5m line out.

78.00: The Sunwolves have turned the ball over after the Sunwolves won the line out but were unable to score after 8 phases.

79.00: The Stormers get into space and Cheslin Kolbe goes for the line – a last ditch tackle stops him but the Stormers keep the ball alive. They drive over the line and Vincent Koch scores. TRY!

Brandon Thompson adds the conversion and that is it.

Its a draw.

The full time score is Sunwolves 17 (14) Stormers 17 (3)


Tries – A.Yamada
Pen – T.Pisi 4
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries -P. du Toit, V.Koch
Pen -J.du Plessis
Con – J.du Plessis, B.Thomson
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Paul Williams
Assistant Ref 1:Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 2:Shuhei Kubo
TMO : Takashi Hareda



15 Riaan Viljoen, 14. Akihito Yamada, 13 Derek Carpenter, 12 Harumichi Tatekawa (c) , 11 John Stewart, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9. Atsushi Hiwasa,. 8 Ed Quirk, 7 Andrew Durutalo, 6. Liaki Moli, 5. Fa’ Atiga Lemalu, 4. Timothy Bond, 3 Shinnosuke Kakinaga, 2. Takeshi Kizu, 1 Masataka Mikami

Replacements: 16.Shota Horie, 17 Ziun Gu, 18 Takuma Asahara, 19. Yoshiya Hosoda, 20 Taiyo Ando, 21. Yuki Yatomi, 22 Yu Tamura, 23 Mifiposeti Paea


15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Juan de Jongh (co-captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Kobus van Wyk, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 JD Schickerling, 3 Frans Malherbe (co-captain), 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.

Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Oliver Kebble, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Nic Groom, 22 Brandon Thomson, 23 Huw Jones.


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.