Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Super 14 preview Week 3 Saturday

The Super14 follows on from Friday’s matches on Saturday. Here we have a quick look at the matches coming up on Saturday in Round three of the 2008 Super 14 starting with the Highlanders vs the Waratahs.


The Highlanders will be at home for the first time and they will also be in search of their first win of the season. The Highlanders were expected to have a bit of a tough year due to their loss of personnel except that so far they have had a bad start but not for the reasons expected.


Against the Reds they had a couple of tough calls go against them and against the Brumbies they lost by a kick. Expect home advantage to be a big fact and don’t forget that it is called the House of Pain.

The Waratahs didn’t look too bad at the start of the season but last week they were a bit dull. Dan Vickerman and Phil Waugh will need to get more ball out to that back line that is begging to be opened up. The Tahs didn’t show us enough last week to show that last year was a blip so we will back the Highlanders to win this one……just.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Highlanders by 6.

Saturday March 1
Carisbrook, Dunedin
Referee: JC Fortuin (RSA)
Head-to-Head: Played 12, Waratahs 9, Highlanders 3
In Dunedin: Played 6, Waratahs 5, Highlanders 1
Last season: Round 12, April 21 2007: Highlanders 26-25 Waratahs at Aussie Stadium, Sydney



15. James Wilson, 14. Paul Williams , 13. Niva Ta’auso, 12. Johnny Leota, 11. Fetu’u Vainikolo, 10. Michael Delany, 9. Jimmy Cowan (VC ), 8. Steven Setephano , 7. Alando Soakai, 6. Hayden Triggs , 5. Tom Donnelly, 4. Isaac Ross, 3. Clint Newland, 2. Jason Macdonald ( C ), 1. Jamie Mackintosh
Reserves: 16. David Hall, 17. Chris King, 18. Adam Thomson, 19. Tim Boys, 20. Toby Morland, 21. Ben W Smith, 22. Brett Mather


1. Sekope Kepu,2. Adam Freier,3. Matt Dunning,4. Will Caldwell,5. Dan Vickerman,6. Rocky Elsom,7. Phil Waugh [c],8. Wycliff Palu,9. Brett Sheehan,10. Kurtley Beale,11. Lote Tuqiri,12. Tom Carter,13. Ben Jacobs,14. Timana Tahu,15. Lachie Turner
Reserves:16. Tatafu Polota-Nau,17. Dan Palmer,18. Dean Mumm,19. Beau Robinson,20. Luke Burgess,21. Sam Harris,22. Alfi Mafi,23rd Man ‘ Pat McCutcheon.


This all Australian derby usually goes the way of the Brumbies. We say usually but that should be always. The Reds have never beaten the Brumbies in Canberra and worse still the Reds have only ever beaten the Brumbies once in all games of Super rugby.

The Brumbies are scratching around to find players good enough for Super Rugby but they will fight like dogs to keep that Canberra unbeaten record.

The Reds often start well in the Super 14 and fade off as injuries take their toll. Already they have lost Hugh McMeniman and Sam Cordingley failed to reach acceptable fitness levels for the match so Will Genia starts.

The one will be close but the Brumbies will edge it.

Brumbies by 7.

Saturday March 1
Canberra Stadium, Canberra
Referee: Paul Honiss (NZL)
Head-to-Head: Played 13, Brumbies 12, Reds 1
In Canberra: Played 7, Brumbies 7, Reds 0
Last season: Round 3, February 17 2007: Brumbies 6-3 Reds at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane



Nic Henderson, Saia Faingaa , Guy Shepherdson , Adam Wallace-Harrison , Mark Chisholm , Mitchell Chapman , George Smith (c), Stephen Hoiles , Patrick Phibbs , Christian Lealiifano , Francis Fainifo , Tyrone Smith , Sanualio Afeaki , Mark Gerrard , Julian Huxley.
Reserves :Huia Edmonds, Salesi Ma’afu, Peter Kimlin , Julian Salvi , Joshua Holmes , Peter Playford ,Afusipa Taumoepeau


Chris Latham, Digby Ioane, Morgan Turinui, Chris Siale, Clinton Schifcofske, Berrick Barnes, Will Genia, Leroy Houston, David Croft, John Roe (c), James Horwill, Van Humphries, Rodney Blake, Stephen Moore, Greg Holmes.
Reserves (16-22): Sean Hardman, Dayna Edwards, Ed O’Donoghue, AJ Gilbert, Ben Lucas, Peter Hynes, Quade Cooper.


This match will be a lot like the Crusaders vs the Stormers on Friday. The Cheetahs have not won a match yet and worse still they have been at home for both matches. The Blues looked good last week and the Cheetahs didn’t inspire. The Cheetahs have however lost both of their matches by one point.

Blues coach David Nucifora has made just one change, bringing in Rudi Wulf for Anthony Tuitavake. The Blues look so good that even if they changed 10 players they would probably still comfortably win this one.

This one could be embarrassing for the current Currie Cup champions.

Blues by 30+

Saturday March 1
Venue :
Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
Referee: Brett Bowden (AUS)
Head-to-Head: Played 3, Blues 3, Cheetahs 0
In Bloemfontein: Played 2, Blues 2, Cheetahs 0
Last season: Round 10, April 6 2007: Blues 26-8 Cheetahs at Eden Park, Auckland



Hennie Daniller; Eddie Fredericks, JW Jonker, Meyer Bosman, Gavin Passens; Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Falie Oelschig; Duanne Vermeulen, Juan Smith (k), Heinrich Brussow, David de Villiers, Rory Duncan, Kobus Calldo, Adriaan Strauss, Wian du Preez.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Bees Roux, Flip van der Merwe, Kabamba Floors, Tewis de Bruyn, Conrad Barnard, Hendrik Meyer.

Isa Nacewa; Rudi Wulf, Isaia Toeva, Benson Stanley, Joe Rokocoko; Nick Evans, Danny Lee; Nick Williams, Justin Collins, Jerome Kaino, Troy Flavell (capt), Kurtis Haiu, John Afoa, Keven Mealamu, Tony Woodcock.
Res – Tom McCartney, Bronson Murray, Anthony Boric, Onosa’s Tololima-Auva’a, Taniela Moa, Ben Atiga, Anthony Tuitavake.


This is a replay of the 2007 Super 14 final. The Bulls famously won in the last minute when Bryan Habana handed the Bulls the title.

A lot has changed since then. Habana is not there, Matfield is not there, Gary Botha is not there and the list goes on. The Sharks have also lost high profile players like John Smit, Percy Montgomery and Butch James but the Bulls stars departures have hit them hard.

Neither team has really impressed in the opening rounds but the Sharks have a slight edge and in that they have not lost a match yet. Loftus is a tough place to visit and the Loftus loyal adore their Liefling Derick Hougaard except that he is on the bench. If, like last week’s Sharks match where it comes down to kicks then the Bulls will shade it.

The Sharks appear to have adapted slightly better to the new rules and they should take this one.

Sharks by 5 or less

Saturday March 1
Venue :
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Referee: Mark Lawrence (RSA)
Head-to-Head: Played 13, Bulls 6, Sharks 5, Drawn 2
In Pretoria: Played 6, Bulls 3, Sharks 2, Drawn 1
Last season: Round 1, February 4 2007: Sharks 17-3 Bulls at Absa Stadium, Durban; Final, May 19 2007: Bulls 20-19 Sharks at Absa Stadium, Durban



Zane Kirchner; Akona Ndungane, JP Nel, Wynand Olivier, Danwel Demas, Morn’ Steyn, Fourie du Preez (c); Pedrie Wanneburg, Wikus van Heerden, Danie Rossouw, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Bakkies Botha, Rayno Gerber, Derick Ku’n, Gurthr’ Steenkamp.
Reserves: James van der Walt, Werner Kruger, Jaco Engels, Deon Stegmann, Heini Adams, Derick Hougaard, John Mametsa.


15. Francois Steyn, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Bradley Barritt, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Frederic Michalak, 9. Rory Kockott, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. AJ Venter , 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. Johann Muller (Capt), 4. Johan Ackermann, 3. BJ Botha, 2. Bismarck du Plessis/Skipper Badenhorst, 1. Jannie du Plessis

Replacements: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Tendai Mtawarira, 18. Albert van den Berg, 19. Jean Deysel, 20. Jacques Botes, 21. Adrian Jacobs, 22. Stefan Terblanche.   

Exit mobile version