Super 14 Rugby

Super 14 Preview – Week 8 Saturday


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Super14 follows on from Friday’s matches on Saturday and here we have a quick look at the matches coming up on Saturday in Round Eight of the 2008 Super 14 starting with the Hurricanes vs Chiefs.


This match could turn out to be the game of the weekend. Wellington’s past coach John Plumtree jumped ship to coach the Sharks will have advised the Sharks players all of the Hurricanes deficiencies and most of the Canes players will know what to expect from Plumtree.

The Hurricanes were pretty good against the Crusaders last week but they were a little off the pace (as all teams are against the Crusaders). They will be desperate to stay in the hunt now that they have cracked the top four.

The Sharks meanwhile have played away matches this season but none of them have been out of South Africa. This will be a real test for the Sharks who have not been as impressive as the unbeaten record suggests.

There should be an interesting battle in the loosies between Keegan Daniel , Ryan Kankowski and Jacques Botes vs Rodney So’oialo, Chris Masoe and Jerry Collins.

The Sharks will be slightly unsettled from the trip over to NZ and home advanatge will be the factor in this one.

Hurricanes by 5+

Saturday April 5
Venue :Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Referee: Paul Marks (Australia)
Assistant Referees : Kelvin Deaker (Australia), James Scholtens (New Zealand)
TV Match Official : Brent Murray (New Zealand)
Reviewer/Perf. Auditor : Kim Eichamnn (New Zealand)
Head-to-Head: Played 12, Hurricanes 6, Sharks 6
In Wellington/New Plymouth: Played 6, Hurricanes 3, Sharks 3
Last season: Round 7, March 17 2007: Sharks 27-14 Hurricanes at Absa Stadium, Durban



15 Cory Jane, 14 Ma’a Nonu, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Tane Tu’ipulotu, 11 Shannon Paku, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Rodney So’oialo (c), 7 Chris Masoe, 6 Jerry Collins, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Craig Clarke, 3 Neemia Tialata, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 John Schwalger.
Reserves: 16 Hikawera Elliot, 17 Jacob Ellison, 18 Jeremy Thrush, 19 Thomas Waldrom, 20 Alby Mathewson, 21 Willie Ripia, 22 Hosea Gear.


15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Francois Steyn, 12. Bradley Barritt, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Frederic Michalak, 9. Ruan Pienaar, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Keegan Daniel, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Johann Muller ( Capt ), 4. Steven Sykes, 3. BJ Botha
2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Jannie du Plessis, 18. Albert van den Berg, 19. AJ Venter, 20. Epi Taione, 21. Rory Kockott, 22. Adrian Jacobs.


Crunch. Two solid teams who are both more than capable of reaching the play offs and even the finals. Both have not been firing in the past few weeks.

The Blues will arrive on Sydney not exactly full of confidence after scraping home twice. They are desperate to find the form that they showed in the early rounds before they lost Nacewa.

The Blues have named Nick Evans and Daniel Braid in the team so they will almost their full in action.

With Waratahs coach Ewen McKenzie being told he will be dropped at the end of the season it’s hard to predict how the Tahs will respond. Some teams simply give up and others get inspired and put in their best performances.

If the Waratahs play as they have been lately slowing down the game with a strong defence the match won’t be a blowout as the Blues would like. Even still the Blues will arrive as favourites with their third place ranking.

Blues by 10

Saturday April 5
Venue :Sydney Football Stadium
Referee: Marius Jonker (South Africa)
Assistant Referees : Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa), Grant MacNeill (Australia)
TV Match Official : Steve Leszczynski (Australia)
Reviewer/Perf. Auditor : Andrew Cole (Australia)
Head-to-Head: Played 12, Blues 9, Waratahs 3
In Sydney: Played 6, Blues 3, Waratahs 3
Last season: Round 8, March 23 2007: Blues 34-6 Waratahs at Eden Park, Auckland



1. Benn Robinson, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3. Matt Dunning ,4. Dean Mumm, 5. Dan Vickerman, 6. Rocky Elsom, 7. Phil Waugh [c], 8. Wycliff Palu, 9. Luke Burgess, 10. Kurtley Beale, 11. Lote Tuqiri, 12. Tom Carter, 13. Ben Jacobs, 14. Lachie Turner, 15. Sam Norton-Knight
Reserves: 16. Adam Freier, 17. Al Baxter ,18. David Lyons, 19. Beau Robinson, 20. Brett Sheehan, 21. Rob Horne, 22. Alfi Mafi.


15-1: George Pisi; Joe Rokocoko, Isaia Toeava, Benson Stanley, Anthony Tuitavake; Nick Evans, Danny Lee; Nick Williams, Daniel Braid, Jerome Kaino, Troy Flavell (c), Kurtis Haiu, John Afoa, Keven Mealamu, Tony Woodcock.

Reserves: Tom McCartney, Nick White, Anthony Boric, Justin Collins, Taniela Moa, Ben Atiga, Rudi Wulf.



Not many will get up in Brisbane for this one but it could turn out to a fairly liquid match. The Cheetahs will be very happy to be home after touring NZ and Australia and returning without a win. They have also been boosted a bit by the return of Juan Smith who has been named on the bench.

Just why the Cheetahs don’t live up to the Currie Cup champions in the Super 14 is baffling.

The Reds on the other hand will be disappointed with their draw to the Lions and loss to the Sharks. The felt that that were robbed of a try against the Sharks who were playing with 16 men. Chris Latham remains their go to man and he looks to be getting better by the match.

The Reds will captain Sam Cordingley back and he will lift the team as he did in Brisbane three weekends ago. It shouldn’t be enough to give the Reds their first win ever in Bloemfontein.


Cheetahs by 3


Saturday April 5
Venue :Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees : Chris Pollock (New Zealand), Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)
TV Match Official : Michael Cupido (South Africa)
Reviewer/Perf. Auditor : Banks Yantolo (South Africa)
Head-to-Head: Played 3, Cheetahs 2, Reds 1
In Bloemfontein: Played 2, Cheetahs 2, Reds 0
Last season: Round 12, April 21 2007: Reds 23-13 Cheetahs at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane



Hennie Daniller; Eddie Fredericks, JW Jonker, Meyer Bosman, Jongi Nokwe; Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Tewis de Bruyn; Duanne Vermeulen, Hendro Scholtz, Heinrich Br’ssow, Barend Pieterse, Rory Duncan (c), CJ van der Linde, Adriaan Strauss, Wian du Preez.
Reserves: Richardt Strauss, Bees Roux, David de Villiers, Juan Smith, Falie Oelschig, Conrad Barnard, Hendrik Meyer.


Chris Latham, Clinton Schifcofske, Morgan Turinui, Berrick Barnes, Peter Hynes, Quade Cooper, Sam Cordingley (c), Leroy Houston, David Croft, John Roe, James Horwill, Van Humphries, Dayna Edwards, Stephen Moore, Greg Holmes.

Reserves: Sean Hardman, Ben Coutts, Ed O’Donoghue, Poutasi Luafutu, Ben Lucas, Charlie Fetoai, Brando Va’aulu.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.