Super 14 Rugby

Super14 preview Week 7 – Saturday


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Super14 follows on from Friday’s matches on Saturday and here we have a quick look at the matches coming up on Saturday in Round Seven of the 2008 Super 14 starting with the Chiefs vs Highlanders.


The Chiefs are in a bit of a spot. They need to keep the momentum they picked up last week and keep it going or else they will be out of contention before they know it.

Having lost five out of five matches so far the Highlanders have little to lose. They only have four points and while they could still reach the play offs (maybe) they now have little to lose will be dangerous now as they can throw caution to the wind.

The Chiefs will need the players wearing the 8, 9 and 10 jerseys namely Sione Lauaki, Brendon Leonard and Stephen Donald to dominate the pace of the game like they did last week.

If they do that then they should win comfortably.

Chiefs by 5

Saturday March 29
Venue :
Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Referee: Stuart Dickinson (New Zealand)
Jonathon White (New Zealand), Keith Brown (New Zealand)
TV Match Official : Glenn Newman (New Zealand)
Reviewer/Perf. Auditor : Alan Riley (New Zealand)
Head-to-Head: Played 12, Chiefs 7, Highlanders 5
In Hamilton: Played 6, Chiefs 3, Highlanders 3
Last season: Round 10, April 7 2007: Chiefs 38-34 Highlanders at Events Centre, Queenstown



1. Simms Davison,2. Tom Willis ,3. Ben Castle,4. Toby Lynn,5. Kevin O’Neill,6. Liam Messam,7. Tanerau Latimer,8. Sione Lauaki,9. Brendon Leonard,10. Stephen Donald,11. Sitiveni Sivivatu,12. Callum Bruce,13. Richard Kahui,14. Lelia Masaga,15. Mils Muliaina (captain)

Reserves:16. Aled de Malmanche,17. Ben May,18. Jay Williams,19. Faifili Levave,20. David Bason,21. Dwayne Sweeney,22. Viliame Waqaseduadua


15. James Wilson, 14. Paul Williams , 13. Niva Ta’auso, 12. Johnny Leota, 11. Fetu’u Vainikolo, 10. Daniel Bowden, 9. Jimmy Cowan ( vc ), 8. Steven Setephano , 7. Alando Soakai, 6. Craig Newby ( c ), 5. Hayden Triggs, 4. Hoani MacDonald, 3. Clint Newland, 2. David Hall, 1. Jamie Mackintosh

Reserves: 16. Jason Macdonald, 17. Chris King, 18. Isaac Ross, 19. Adam Thomson, 20. Toby Morland, 21. Mike Delany, 22. Brett Mather


What is the Bulls plan this year. Last year they won the tournament and this year after six rounds they are 11th on the league table!

Ok they might have lost a few core players but even some of their fans are mystified by their game plan.

The Blues won last week in the last minute and even though they scraped home they will have taken a lot from that. Add that Nick Evans is returning with Joe Rokocoko & Daniel Braid and it’s hard to see the Blues losing.

The Bulls however will be boosted by the return of Pierre Spies but as he has not played a match in nine months it will take him a game or two to get up to speed.

Blues by 20+

Saturday March 29
: Eden Park, Auckland
Referee: James Leckie (Australia)
Assistant Referees : Brett Bowden (Australia), Josh Noonan (New Zealand)
TV Match Official : Ben Skeen (New Zealand)
Reviewer/Perf. Auditor : Stuart Beissel (New Zealand)
Head-to-Head: Played 13, Blues 8, Bulls 4, Drawn 1
In Auckland: Played 7, Blues 7, Bulls 0
Last season: Round 13, April 27 2007: Bulls 40-19 Blues at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria


Blues :

1 Tony Woodcock, 2 Keven Mealamu , 3 Prop John Afoa ,4 Kurtis Haiu ,5 Troy Flavell ‘ ,6 Justin Collins ,7 Daniel Braid ,8 Jerome Kaino ,9 Danny Lee ,10 Nick Evans , 11 Rudi Wulf , 12 Benson Stanley , 13 Isaia Toeava , 14 Joe Rokocoko
15 George Pisi
Replacements: ,16 Nick White(FR) ,17 Bronson Murray (FR) , 18 Anthony Boric , 19 Nick Williams , 20 Taniela Moa , 21 Ben Atiga , 22 David Smith.


To follow


The Reds suffered the late blow of losing captain Sam Cordingley. It’s hard to predict what the Reds will play like this weekend. They were woeful against the Brumbies and then pretty awesome the following week against the Bulls.

The picked up a draw against the Lions last week which is always a boost away from home. Croft and Digby Ioane are back for what coach Mooney has called “their toughest match this year”. Being a team from Brisbane they like Durban’s humidity so much that they have beaten the Sharks more times than the Sharks have beaten the Reds (Played 6 – Reds won 4).

The Sharks however are the only team that has not lost a match besides the Crusaders so they will be expected to win. The Sharks are coming off the bye from last week and Tongan international Epi Taione will make his debut. He is bound to have an impact.

Sharks by 15

Saturday March 29
: Absa Stadium, Durban
Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees : Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand), Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
TV Match Official : Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)
Reviewer/Perf. Auditor : Dennis Immelman (South Africa)
Head-to-Head: Played 13, Reds 9, Sharks 4
In Durban: Played 6, Reds 4, Sharks 2
Last season: Round 10, April 7 2007: Sharks 59-16 Reds at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane


Sharks 15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Bradley Barritt, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Francois Steyn, 9. Ruan Pienaar, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Jacques Botes, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. Johann Muller (Captain), 4. AJ Venter, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16. Craig Burden, 17. BJ Botha *, 18. Albert van den Berg, 19. Steven Sykes, 20. Epi Taione **, 21. Rory Kockott, 22. Frederic Michalak

* 50th Super Rugby Cap
** Sharks and Super 14 debut



Chris Latham (c), Clinton Schifcofske, Morgan Turinui, Berrick Barnes, Peter Hynes, Quade Cooper, Ben Lucas, Leroy Houston, David Croft, John Roe, James Horwill, Van Humphries, Dayna Edwards, Stephen Moore, Greg Holmes.
Reserves: Sean Hardman, Rodney Blake, Ed O’Donoghue, Poutasi Luafutu, Will Genia, Charlie Fetoai, Digby Ioane.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.