Tah’s Turinui set for 50th cap against Hurricanes



Super rugby unlocked : SR standings | SR unlocked fixtures | TriNations : TriNations standings | TriNations fixtures |


A sold out Aussie Stadium crowd will see Morgan Turinui play his 50th match for NSW as the HSBC Waratahs take on the Hurricanes on Saturday night. The last publicly available ticket was snapped up earlier this week, meaning a crowd in excess of 40-thousand is expected to witness Turinui’s milestone.

‘Morgan has been a valuable contributor to the team since 2003 and it’s fitting he play his fiftieth game in front of a full house,’ HSBC Waratahs head coach Ewen McKenzie said.

The only change to the side which went down 37-33 to the Chiefs last week will see Stephen Hoiles start at number eight, with David Lyons shifting to the bench.

‘Stephen played well in New Zealand and his selection is a reflection of that,’ McKenzie said.

‘We’ve got a number of terrific backrowers, which means there’s always plenty of competition for spots.’

Flanker Wycliff Palu was not considered for selection despite his recovery from a shoulder injury.

‘We had a look at Palu but in the end he wasn’t quite right,’ McKenzie added. ‘We expect him to be in the mix for next week.’

The winner of Saturday’s match will claim the right to host a Super 14 semifinal next weekend.

‘Selling out days in advance shows the outstanding level of support for the Waratahs in New South Wales,’ NSWRU Chief Executive Fraser Neill said.

‘The team has been away for the last two weeks and had the bye before that so we’re expecting a big welcome home from the fans.

‘And with so much riding on this game a big and boisterous home crowd will certainly be an advantage for the team as they press for a home semifinal.

A contingent of Hurricanes fans will also make the trek across the Tasman for the match.

‘Anyone who’s been to a Test knows what great supporters the Kiwis are,’ Mr. Neill added.

‘They certainly make their presence felt, so it’s very important that all Waratahs fans wear blue and make plenty of noise come game time.’

Fans are also requested to plan their journey to the ground and arrive early to ensure they don’t miss a minute of the action.

1. Benn Robinson
2. Adam Freier
3. Al Baxter
4. Alex Kanaar
5. Daniel Vickerman
6. Rocky Elsom
7. Phil Waugh [v-c]
8. Stephen Hoiles
9. Chris Whitaker [c]
10. Mat Rogers
11. Lote Tuqiri
12. Sam Norton-Knight
13. Morgan Turinui
14. Wendell Sailor
15. Peter Hewat
16. Tatafu Polota-Nau
17. Matt Dunning
18. Will Caldwell
19. David Lyons
20. Brett Sheehan
21. Daniel Halangahu
22. Shaun Berne
23rd Man: Ben Jacobs

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.