The Bulls steal the Super 14 in last minute thriller!



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |




The teams for the 2007 Super 14 final have been announced, the tickets have all been sold and just under 100 Super 14 matches have been played so we can get to the final.


The Sharks have home advantage but the Bulls have recently hit the form of their lives.


The Sharks have been the form team of the tournament and have led the table for most of the tournament. The Bulls stutterred at firts and have come on strong.


Both teams benefited from the draw. The Sharks had a shocking draw last year and just missed out on a semi final spot as the Bulls took their place. This year the Sharks started many games at home which helped them gain momentum.


The Bulls had the advantage of being the last team to play in the scheduled matches so they knew exactly how many points they needed to get a home semi final.


Nevertheless the Bulls showed in the match against the Reds that they had an attacking game. Then in the Semi against the Crusaders they showed that they had a defensive game.


The big question is, will it be enough to defend against the Sharks or enough to outscore the Sharks to become the first ever South African Super 14 Champion.  


Match detail


It’s a glorious day in Durban and great conditions for a fantastic final between the two South African finalists.


The teams are on the field and Butch James kicks off to start the 2007 Super 14 final.

Montgomery is taken out in the air by Brian Habana.  Steve Walsh

talks to Habana, but no card is produced.


Penalty Sharks in front of the posts.  Percy Montgomery scores to give the Sharks the lead.


TRY Bulls – 15 mins – Pierre Spies breaks through the Sharks defence from a great pass from Victor Matfield.  Try converted by Derick Hougaard.


TRY Sharks – 19 mins – JP Pietersen interception and runs 50 metres to score.  Conversion missed by Montgomery.


Audacious drop goal attempt by John Smit goes wide.


Penalty Sharks.  Montgomery scores.


Penalty Bulls.  Hougaard scores.


Penalty Sharks.  JP Nel plays the ball in an offside position.  Montgomery scores.


Penalty Sharks from long distance.  Missed by Montgomery, the wind took it wide.


Half time whistle goes with the Sharks on the attack and putting the Bulls under pressure.


The Sharks have the initiative at the break and the Bulls will need to reduce their penalty count in the second half if they want to restrict the Sharks score count.  The Bulls have it all to do.


The second half is underway with the Bulls kicking off deep into Sharks territory.


Long drop goal attempt from Hougaard missed.


Penalty Bulls from 50 metres.  Hougaard falls short.  Good direction but it was a long way out, even with the wind on their side.


Great defence from the Sharks to keep the Bulls out, typified by an excellent hit by Butch James on the Bulls talisman Victor Matfield to drive him into touch.


The two sides exchange up and unders with the Bulls finally making a mess of the take and almost gifting the Sharks a try.


Penalty to the Bulls for handling in the ruck 5 metres from the Sharks line.  Hougaard steps up and scores.


Drop goal attempt by Francois Steyn.  Bad connection with the ball and it falls short.


Good pressure from the Sharks pushing the Bulls deep into their 22 with wave after wave of attacks.


Another very poor attempt at a drop goal by Steyn ends up nearer the corner flag than the posts.


Knock on by Butch James under no real pressure on his own line gifts the Bulls with a good chance to score but not taken.


The nerves are kicking in on both sides with only ten minutes left on the clock and the teams seperated by only a single point.


Drop goal attempt by Jaco van der Westhuyzen but very well wide.


Four minutes to go and one drop goal from either side looks likely to win it but neither side have taken a goal from several attempts so far.


TRY Sharks – Immesnse pressure from the Sharks pack against a tiring Bulls side and Albert van den Berg touches down.  Conversion missed.


The Bulls have to run it.  They are still within one converted score and so they still have a chance to nick it at the death.


TRY Bulls!  On 82 minutes, the Bulls have nicked a try through Bryan Habana to steal the championship from under the Sharks noses.  Hougaard converts to win the game and championship.


A real kick in the teeth for the Sharks, but the Bulls fans are delerious!

Final Score Sharks 19 Bulls 20




Tries – Pietersen, van den Berg
Penalties – Montgomery 3


Tries – Spies, Habana
Penalties – Hougaard 2
Conversions – Hougaard, Hougaard




Sharks: 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 Francois Steyn, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Butch James, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 AJ Venter, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Johan Ackermann, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Deon Carstens
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Albert van den Berg, 19 Warren Britz, 20 Bob Skinstad, 21 Rory Kockott, 22 Adrian Jacobs


Bulls:15 Johan Roets, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JP Nel, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Wikus van Heerden, 6 Pedrie Wannenburg, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Rayno Gerber, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Jaco Engels, 17 Danie Thiart, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Derick Ku’n, 20 Heinie Adams, 21 Morn’ Steyn, 22 Jaco van der Westhuyzen.

Date: Saturday, 19 May
Venue: ABSA Stadium, Durban
Kick-off: 15.00 (14.00 GMT)
Referee: Steve Walsh( New Zealand)
Touch judges: Lyndon Bray( New Zealand), Bryce Lawrence( New Zealand)
Television match official: Kelvin Deaker( New Zealand)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.