Tietjens names 8 newcomers in NZ 7’s squad



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The youngest is Auckland back Lachie Munro who is only 19. The New Zealand sevens tournament is in Wellington on February 3-4.

“The new players have convinced me of their ability to compete at the next level and this is their opportunity to show that on the international stage,” Tietjens said.

“This starts next week in Wellington and the guys are excited at the challenge of playing in front of their home crowd.”

New Zealand are drawn in pool C along with the Kenya, the Cook Islands and Samoa.

New Zealand sevens squad:

Charles Baxter (Bay of Plenty), Edwin Cocker (Otago), DJ Forbes (Auckland), Craig Hudson (North Harbour), Nigel Hunt (Wellington), Tafai Ioasa (Hawke’s Bay, captain), Cory Jane (Wellington), Zar Lawrence (North Harbour), James Maher (Counties-Manukau), Lachie Munro (Auckland), Lote Raikabula (Wellington), Hayden Reid (Bay of Plenty), Alando Soakai (Otago), Dwayne Sweeney (Waikato), Onosa’i Tololima-Auva’a (Auckland), Amasio Valence (Auckland). One to be added.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.