Super Rugby

Todd leads Crusaders against Hurricanes



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The Crusaders have named their team to play Super Rugby champions the Hurricanes at Westpac Stadium, Wellington with Matt Todd as captain of the team.

A home quarter final is already secured, but the result of this weekend’s game will help to determine whether the Crusaders will host the Sharks or the Highlanders at AMI Stadium next Saturday night.

Head Coach Scott Robertson has named some of the All Blacks who have returned from the British and Irish Lions tour this week, including Wyatt Crockett at 1, Luke Romano and Scott Barrett at lock, Kieran Read at No. 8, Israel Dagg at fullback and Sam Whitelock on the bench.

Matt Todd and Jack Goodhue, who were included as injury cover in the All Blacks squad, will also take starting spots and Todd will captain the team.

Jerseys 11 and 12 will be filled by two of the award winners from Tuesday night’s Crusaders Awards evening.

Wing George Bridge was named the ‘ Crusaders Rookie of the Year’, while second five David Havili was named the ‘ Crusaders Player of the Year’.

A new award – the ‘Champion Crusader of the Year’ – was presented to Tim Bateman in recognition of his outstanding off-field and on-field contribution to the team.


1. Wyatt Crockett , 2. Ben Funnell , 3. Michael Alaalatoa , 4. Luke Romano , 5. Scott Barrett , 6. Jordan Taufua , 7. Matt Todd (C) , 8. Kieran Read , 9. Bryn Hall , 10. Richie Mo’unga , 11. George Bridge , 12. David Havili , 13. Jack Goodhue , 14. Seta Tamanivalu , 15. Israel Dagg

Replacments : 16. Andrew Makalio , 17. Tim Perry , 18. Oliver Jager , 19. Sam Whitelock (VC) , 20. Jed Brown , 21. Mitchell Drummond , 22. Mitchell Hunt , 23. Sean Wainui


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.