Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Tri-Nations Rugby Championship Round 6 Australia vs Argentina

Argentina versus Australia Tri-Nations Rugby Championship, McDonald jones Stadium, Newcastle

NEWCASTLE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 21: Hunter Paisami of the Wallabies is tackled by Santiago Chocobares of the Pumas during the 2020 Tri-Nations match between the Australian Wallabies and the Argentina Pumas at McDonald Jones Stadium on November 21, 2020 in Newcastle, Australia. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

New Zealand added another southern hemisphere tournament trophy to their cabinet after defeating Argentina to claim the 2020 Tri-Nations Rugby Championship.

The All Blacks, who lost their World and Rugby Championship crowns last year to the Springboks, added the Tri-Nations to their 2020 Bledisloe Cup triumph.

New Zealand’s 38-0 bonus-point victory over Argentina last weekend sealed the 2020 Tri-Nations Rugby Championship title.

So, this is also a match to avoid the dreaded ‘Wooden Spoon’.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Australia is currently in last place and trails Argentina by eight points in the points differential. As a result, if the teams draw Argentina will finish second on the Tri-Nations log.

Argentina rocked by historical racist social media posts scandal

Argentina skipper Pablo Matera, Guido Petti, and Santiago Socino were suspended on Tuesday, 1 December for “discriminatory and xenophobic” posts made on social media between 2011 and 2013.

All three have, however, had their suspensions lifted on Thursday, 3 December, while Matera has also regained the captaincy.

The discovery of the social media posts had followed criticism of the team for not doing enough to mark the death of Argentina football legend Diego Maradona before their loss against New Zealand on Saturday.

They have, however, not been named in Los Pumas’ squad for this Saturday’s Test against Australia to protect them after they received “a lot of hate” since the posts were discovered, said head coach Mario Ledesma.

Australia v Argentina Rugby Championship Round Six Preview

Australia has played Argentina 33 times since 1979, the Wallabies have won 25 matches, lost six, and drawn two.

The Wallabies’ 25 wins give them a record of winning 76% of their matches against the Pumas regardless of venue.

This weekend, the match will be played in Sydney, which is a home venue for the Wallabies.

In those four matches played in Sydney, the Wallabies have won all four matches.

This gives the Wallabies a record of winning 100% of their matches against Los Pumas at home in Sydney.

The average score when the Wallabies play Los Pumas in Sydney is 28-7 to the hosts.

The Aussies are unbeaten in matches against Argentina in Sydney.

The Bookies have given Argentina a 13 point start for this match.

Average score: Australia 28 Argentina 17

Last five results
21 Nov 2020  AUS v ARG 15-15 McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle.
27 Jul 2019 AUS v ARG 16-10 Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane.
06 Oct 2018 AUS v ARG 45-34 Estadio Ernesto Maltearena, Salta.
15 Sep 2018 AUS v ARG 19-23 Robina Stadium, Gold Coast.
07 Oct 2017 AUS v ARG 37-20 Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza.

Australia’s overall record against Argentina
Played 33, Wins 25, Losses 6, Draws 2

Australia’s winning percentage against Argentina is 75%

Match: Australia v Argentina
Date: Saturday 5 December 2020
Venue: Bankwest Stadium, Sydney, Australia
Kick-Off local: 19:45
Referee: Angus Gardner (RA)
Assistant Ref 1: Nic Berry (RA)
Assistant Ref 2: Jordan Way (RA)
TMO: Damon Murphy (RA)



15 Reece Hodge, 14 Tom Wright, 13 Jordan Petaia, 12 Hunter Paisami, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Nic White, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Scott Sio

Replacements: 16 Folau Fainga’a, 17 Angus Bell, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 20 Rob Valetini, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Irae Simone, 23 Tom Banks


15 Santiago Carreras, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente (captain), 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Felipe Ezcurra, 8 Rodrigo Bruni, 7 Facundo Isa, 6 Santiago Grondona, 5 Marcos Kremer, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro

Replacements: 16 Jose Luis Gonzalez, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 19 Lucas Paulos, 20 Francisco Gorrissen, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Domingo Miotti, 23 Santiago Chocobares

Exit mobile version