Two try Bulls beat Highlanders




The Bulls managed to break a long standing Highlanders jinx on Saturday as they beat the Highlanders for the 1st time in nine years. The Bulls and Highlanders were level pegging at half time. 

The two sides had each scored a try a piece, both with conversions and two penalty goals each.

The Highlanders first half try was scored by Nick Evans and converted by Ben Blair who also scored the conversion and their two penalties.

The Bulls were lifted by a late first half try by Pedrie Wannenburg. All of the remaining Bulls points have been scored by Hougaard.

The Highlanders seemed to be the team in control and only when Jimmy Cowan was sent to the bin for a high tackle were the Bulls able to catch up from being seven points behind the Highlanders.

After the break the Bulls went ahead on the scoreboard thanks to another rolling maul over the Highlanders line as they did in the 1st half. Again when the bodies cleared it was Wannenburg who came up with the ball.

As the match went on Hougaard and Blair traded penalties with Hougaard attemting the drop kick only for the ball to hit the padding at the bottom of the post.

In the last minutes the Highlanders threw everything at the Bulls but the Bulls defence was too strong and the Bulls managed to keep the Highlanders at bay with a 7 point lead.

The Highlanders will at least head home with two wins and a loss with a bonus point.

The Final score was Bulls 23 Highlanders 16


Tries – Wannnenburg 2
Penalties Hougaard 3
Conversions Hougaard 2

Tries – Evans
Penalties – Blair 3
Conversions – Blair


Bulls: 15. Johan Roets, 14. Akona Ndungane, 13. JP Nel, 12. Wynand Olivier, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Derick Hougaard, 9. Fourie Du Preez, 8. Jacques Cronje, 7. Pedrie Wannenburg, 6. Pierre Spies, 5. Victor Matfield (Captain), 4. Bakkies Botha, 3. Andries Human, 2. Gary Botha, 1. Danie Thiart

Reserves: 16. Kobus van der Walt, 17. Wessel Roux, 18. Danie Rossouw, 19. Francois van Schouwenburg, 20. Tim Dlulane, 21. Heini Adams, 22. Morne Steyn

Highlanders: 15. Ben Blair, 14. Vilimoni Delasau, 13. Neil Brew, 12. Seilala Mapusua, 11. Roy Kinikinilau, 10. Nick Evans, 9. Jimmy Cowan, 8. Craig Newby, 7. Tim Boys, 6. Hoani MacDonald, 5. James Ryan, 4. Tom Donnelly, 3. Carl Hayman, 2. Anton Oliver (Captain), 1. Nick White

Reserves: 16. Jason MacDonald, 17. Chris King, 18. Filipo Levi, 19. Hale T`Pole, 20. Chris Smylie, 21. Callum Bruce, 22. Richard Kahui

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.