Rugby Championship News

Tyibilika comes in for van Niekerk in Springboks v All Blacks




Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Springbok coach Jake White has announced his team to face the All Blacks in the Vodacom Tri-Nations game at Westpac Stadium on Saturday.

The match sees Victor Matfield earning his 50th Test cap for South Africa.

Solly Tyibilika comes in for Joe van Niekerk (bench) and Fourie du Preez replaces Ricky Januarie (bench). Other replacements are Jacques Cronje, for Pierre Spies, and either Meyer Bosman or Butch James for Jaco van der Westhuyzen.

A decision on whether James will be on the bench or the starting line-up will be made on Friday, after assessments. Another selection that depends on further assessments is whether Breyton Paulse or JP Pietersen will take the Number 22 jersey.

The team:

  1. Os du Randt
  2. John Smit (Captain)
  3. CJ van der Linde
  4. Albert van den Bergh
  5. Victor Matfield
  6. Solly Tyibilika
  7. Juan Smith
  8. Jacques Cronje
  9. Fourie du Preez
  10. Meyer Bosman/Butch James
  11. Bryan Habana
  12. Wynand Olivier
  13. Jacque Fourie
  14. Akona Ndungane
  15. Percy Montgomery


  1. Danie Coetzee
  2. Eddie Andrews
  3. Johann Muller
  4. Joe van Niekerk
  5. Ricky Januarie
  6. Meyer Bosman/Butch James
  7. Breyton Paulse/JP Pietersen

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.