Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Ulengo starts for Bulls against Waratahs

Jamba Ulengo has re-signed for the Bulls

Jamba Ulengo has been included in the Bulls touring squad

Bulls coach Nollis Marais has named Jamba Ulengo in his starting Super Rugby team to play the Waratahs in the Allianz Stadium in Sydney on Saturday.

Ulengo joined the Bulls in Sydney earlier this week and comes straight into the starting line up as a replacement for the injured Travis Ismaiel on the wing.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Ulengo left the Bulls squad in Australia returned to South Africa from Perth before the Force match.

Marais has also named Jason Jenkins in his starting team alongside regular lock partner RG Snyman and he replaces Marvin Orie, who moves to the bench.

Jannes Kirsten is also back at flank in place of Arno Botha, who drops out of the match day squad.

Marais swopped his halfbacks that started against the Brumbies last weekend too. Rudy Paige and Tian Schoeman will start, with Piet van Zyl and Francois Brummer moving to the bench.

In a similar move, Lizo Gqoboka will start at loosehead and Trevor Nyakane will come off the bench.

Marais also handed a playing opportunity to Jaco Visagie and Pierre Schoeman, replacing Bandise Maku and Werner Kruger on the bench. Dries Swanepoel also replaces Dan Kriel as back-up backline player.

“We did not perform to expectations last weekend and need to make a big step up this weekend,” Marais said.

“The idea is to freshen up the squad a bit and go at the Waratahs with a slightly different team. They are formidable opponents and we owe it to ourselves to give it a good go in our final match on tour.”

Adriaan Strauss urged his team for a final effort.

“A win will make this tour a very successful one, despite last weekend’s defeat. We know we have to deliver a classy performance if we want to outplay the Waratahs, but I think we can do it.”


SP Marais, Jamba Ulengo, Jesse Kriel, Jan Serfontein, Bjorn Basson, Tian Schoeman, Rudy Paige, Hanro Liebenberg, Jannes Kirsten, Lappies Labuschagne, RG Snyman, Jason Jenkins, Marcel van der Merwe, Adriaan Strauss (c), Lizo Gqoboka.

Replacements: Jaco Visagie, Trevor Nyakane, Pierre Schoeman, Marvin Orie, Roelof Smit, Piet van Zyl, Francois Brummer, Dries Swanepoel.

Exit mobile version