Currie Cup

W.Province make four Currie Cup changes for EP





Western Province have named Pat Howard on the wing for Friday’s Currie Cup clash against the Eastern Province Kings at Newlands in Cape Town.

Outside back Howard will start in the No.11 jersey replacing SA Sevens star Seabelo Senatla as one of four changes to the side that beat the Blue Bulls 18-23 in Pretoria last week.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Twenty-two-year-old Howard scored Western Province’s first try of the 2014 Currie Cup – when he played virtually the whole match against the EP Kings on August 8, after coming on as a replacement – and he will form a wing partnership with his WP Under-21 teammate from last year, Kobus van Wyk.

Senatla’s absence, due to an ankle injury, is the only injury-enforced change this week, with scrumhalf Louis Schreuder, No.5 lock Ruan Botha (in his first-ever Currie Cup start for WP) and tighthead prop Brok Harris all earning their first starts of 2014 (along with Howard).

WP Under-21 utility back – and SA Sevens star – Justin Geduld has been named on the bench, in what would be his first senior cap, whilst squad vice-captain Pat Cilliers, lock Manuel Carizza and scrumhalf Nic Groom will all start on the bench on Friday.

“The Kings pushed the Lions in Port Elizabeth last weekend and (Lions coach) Johan Ackermann said as much afterwards,” said WP coach Allister Coetzee.

“We’re expecting a tough encounter, and we certainly won’t under-estimate the Kings, which is why we’ve kept the changes to a minimum this week.

“Obviously we had to replace Seabelo, but the likes of Brok, Ruan and Louis will all come in with minimal disruption and Justin Geduld’s addition is an exciting one – given that he is able to cover so many positions from the bench.”

Western Province

15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh (captain), 12. Jaco Taute, 11. Pat Howard, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Louis Schreuder, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Ruan Botha (First Currie Cup start for Western Province), 4. Jean Kleyn , 3. Brok Harris, 2. Stephan Coetzee, 1. Alistair Vermaak

Replacements:, 16. Neil Rautenbach, 17. Pat Cilliers, 18. Manuel Carizza, 19. Rynhardt Elstadt, 20. Nic Groom, 21. Kurt Coleman, 22. Justin Geduld (On Currie Cup debut for Western Province),

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.