Rugby Championship News

Wallabies change four for All Blacks at Eden Park




Australia head coach Michael Cheika has named a Wallabies team with four changes to his starting side for the second Bledisloe Cup Test at Eden Park this Saturday.

Brumbies props Allan Alaalatoa and Scott Sio will bookend the scrum with Tom Robertson and Sekope Kepu shifting to the bench.

Jack Maddocks will earn his first Test start when he runs out on the right wing with Melbourne Rebels fullback Dane Haylett-Petty to wear the number 15 jersey in the absence of Israel Folau (ankle).

Last weekend, Maddocks became the first Australian to score on debut when playing from the bench since Taqele Naiyaravoro in September 2015 against USA.

Brumbies pair Folau Faingaa and Tom Banks are in line for their Wallabies debut after being named amongst the reserves, in what will be Michael Cheika’s 50th Test as coach of Australia.

Australia haven’t tasted victory in New Zealand since August 2001, when the Wallabies beat the All Blacks 23-15 in Dunedin.

The third and final Bledisloe Cup Test will be played at Nissan Stadium in Yokohama, Japan in October, the same venue that will host next year’s Rugby World Cup Final.


1. Scott Sio , 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 3. Allan Alaalatoa , 4. Izack Rodda , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Lukhan Tui, 7. Michael Hooper (c) , 8. David Pocock , 9. Will Genia , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Marika Koroibete , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Reece Hodge , 14. Jack Maddocks , 15. Dane Haylett-Petty,

Replacements: 16. Folau Faingaa, 17. Tom Robertson , 18. Sekope Kepu , 19. Rob Simmons , 20. Pete Samu , 21. Nick Phipps , 22. Matt Toomua , 23. Tom Banks

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.