Rugby Championship News

Wallabies lose Pocock for Springboks clash




Australia have been forced into a late change for their Rugby championship match against South Africa’s Springboks after Wallabies number eight David Pocock withdrew from the match.

Pocock has now been replaced in the starting side by Pete Samu, who will earn his first Test start when he runs out at Suncorp Stadium tomorrow night.

Former captain Pocock failed to overcome a neck injury sustained in the second Bledisloe Cup clash against New Zealand’s All Blacks in Auckland.

The Wallabies need to beat South Africa to get their rugby championship campaign back on track as they are in fourth place after back-to-back defeats to New Zealand.

Australia and South Africa have been fiercely competitive in recent match-ups, after playing out two draws in 2017.

The Wallabies and Springboks last met in Brisbane in 2016 when Australia edged home 23-17.


1. Scott Sio, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 3. Allan Alaalatoa , 4. Rory Arnold, 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Lukhan Tui , 7. Michael Hooper (c) , 8. Pete Samu , 9. Will Genia , 10. Kurtley Beale, 11. Marika Koroibete, 12. Matt Toomua, 13. Reece Hodge, 14. Dane Haylett-Petty, 15. Israel Folau

Replacements : 16. Folau Faingaa, 17. Tom Robertson , 18. Taniela Tupou, 19. Izack Rodda , 20. Ned Hanigan , 21. Joe Powell , 22. Bernard Foley, 23. Jack Maddocks

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.